Scarborough, Stone Tame Devil’s Bowl

Johnny Scarborough celebrates his first Modified victory at Devil's Bowl Speedway in 15 years. (Devil's Bowl photo)

Johnny Scarborough celebrates his first Modified victory at Devil’s Bowl Speedway in 15 years. (Devil’s Bowl photo)

WEST HAVEN, Vt. – An action-packed Friday night of NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing at Devil’s Bowl Speedway was capped by an unpredictable finale and two first-time feature winners.

Johnny Scarborough and Todd Stone split victories in the top-tier Modifieds as Chuck Bradford and Kyle Watrous each won Mini Stock features, and Robert Gordon and Scott MacMichael repeated in the Renegade and SK Light classes, respectively

Scarborough was a convincing winner in the first of two 25-lap feature races for the Bond Auto Parts Modified division. Scarborough took the lead from rookie Jason Reome on the sixth lap and sailed to the victory in a caution-free race. It was Scarborough’s first win at the track since June 20, 1999 and his first in the NASCAR-sanctioned asphalt era.

In the 25-lap nightcap, defending track champion Todd Stone was the unlikely winner of a volatile, crash-marred race. Stone spun through the infield on lap four and took part in a three-car jingle on lap seven.

He avoided three more wrecks – including one that involved all but four of the cars on the track on lap 14 – to wrestle the lead from Ron Proctor with eight circuits remaining.
The Central Vermont Motorcycles Mini Stock division raced two highly competitive 15-lap events, each with very different outcomes. Point leader Chuck Bradford held off number-two man Jake Noble in the opening round, with third-place point driver Mike Whalen, Jr. third. The heavy-hitters were stuck in traffic in the finale, however, allowing underdog racers Kyle Watrous and Matt Monaghan to shine. Watrous snuck ahead of Monaghan for the lead on a restart with three laps remaining, then drove to his first-ever victory. John McCarron took the runner-up spot by inches ahead of Monaghan.

Robert Gordon took his third Renegade win of the season in a 15-lap race, aiding him in a march up the national point standings ladder; Gordon entered the event ranked 15th in NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Division III national standings. Ray Benoit finished a career-best second, with 16 year-old Stephen Donahue third.
Scott MacMichael won his second SK Light Modified race of the year, topping Norm Forest and Bruce Jaycox in a two-segment race.

Posted by on Jun 28 2014 Filed under NORTHEAST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!