Thunder Road Honors 2012 Track Champs

Nick Sweet stands with his trophies during the Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl banquet Saturday night. (Leif Tillotson Photo)

BARRE, Vt. – Late Model Champion Nick Sweet celebrated his second King of the Road title at the Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl Banquet of Champions on Saturday at the Barre Elks Club.

Bond Auto Tiger Sportsman Champion Bobby Therrien, and Allen Lumber Street Stock Champion Nick Pilotte were also honored for their respective titles.

Sweet dominated the Late Model division in 2012, becoming just the third Late Model champion in Thunder Road’s history to win the title with four victories. The family-run team posted a nearly unbeatable 13 top tens in their 14 starts, claiming his second championship in his four-year late model career at The Nation’s Site of Excitement. He now has nine feature Late Model victories at Thunder Road.

Bobby Therrien was honored for his Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen championship, though he could not be in attendance. His heroism in the final laps at the 50th People’s United Bank Milk Bowl earned him his first Tiger Championship by two points over Brendan Moodie Jr. Nick Pilotte claimed his first Allen Lumber Street Stock championship in 2012, after missing the title by just three points in 2011. He finished in the top ten in 17 of the 18 events in 2012. He also welcomed a son in the off-season.

Times Argus Sports Editor Anna Grearson won the Ken Squier award for contributions to Thunder Road. She was praised for her dedication to loyal fans and drivers, and Vermont as a whole, through her writing and her passion for the sport.

Rookie of the Year honors were received by Lance Allen in the Late Models, Jason Woodard in the Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen, and Dean Switser in the Allen Lumber Street Stock division.

The Sportsmanship Award in the Late Models was to Brooks Clark for his positive attitude and veteran presence in the pits. Mike Ziter won the Sportsmanship Award for the third year straight in the Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen, and Dave Whitcomb won the Ed Carroll Memorial Sportsmanship Award in the Allen Lumber Street Stocks.

Most Improved awards went to young Late Model standout Cody Blake, two-time Bond Auto Tiger Sportsman winner in 2012 Christopher Pelkey, and sophomore sensation Cameron Ouellette in the Allen Lumber Street Stocks.

Posted by on Jan 27 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, NORTHEAST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!