Waterford Honors Wacky Wednesday Champs

WATERFORD, Conn. – Waterford Speedbowl hosted its annual awards ceremony for its Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday racing program Wednesday evening, recognizing several drivers for their accomplishments during the season.

The popular mid-week race program completed its 12th consecutive season of affordable racing and entertainment. Approximately 200 guests attended the ceremony, held on speedway grounds under the hospitality tent. The top-five drivers from each of the series’ four divisions – Legend Cars, Bandoleros, Super X-Cars and X-Cars – were recognized along with special awards given to the top rookie drivers, the Most Improved Driver and a Sportsmanship award in each division.

Dave Garbo Jr. of Stonington was presented the championship trophies for the INEX Legend Cars division. In total Garbo won six feature races on the Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday season, coming over the final 11 races. Bandolero honors went to Rachel Forte of Douglas, MA for the second consecutive year, the first repeat champion in the youth division and only repeat titlist in 2012.

Jim Boyle of East Windsor and Scott Limkemann of East Lyme were honored as champions in the Super X-Car and X-Car divisions, respectively. Each won their first career title in just their third year of competitive racing on any level.

Rookie of the Year honors for the top first-year drivers in their respective divisions were given to Daniel Stolte of Northbridge, MA in the Legend Cars, Andrew Morin of Old Saybrook in the Bandoleros, Matt Carlson of Griswold in the Super X-Cars and Mitchell Bombard of Jewett City in the X-Cars.

The Most Improved Driver awards acknowledged competitors that showed a progression of their skills behind the wheel from either a year ago or from the start of the race season. Legend Car accolades went to Joey Ternullo of Middletown, while A.J. Eastman of Fishers Island took the award for the Bandoleros. Kevin Moon from Exeter, R.I. won the honor in the Super X-Cars, a year after his father won the same award in 2011. Wayne Shifflett of Preston was named Most Improved in the X-Cars.

Sportsmanship Awards were given out to Nicholas Sowa of Middletown in Legend Cars, Corey Comeroski of Lebanon for the Bandoleros, Ed Ryan of Preston for Super X-Cars and Brad Voglesong of Middletown in the X-Cars. Each driver was recognized for their support of the Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday program through a level of professionalism on and off the track.

Posted by on Sep 27 2012 Filed under Latest Headlines, NORTHEAST, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!