116 Entries As I-44 Riverside Kicks Off

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. — Approximately 168 days since the final flag of the 2012 campaign, I44 Riverside Speedway commemorated the launch of a breakthrough season with the opening night of the 12th annual Ryan Craighead Memorial.

A total of 116 entries vied for opening night honors of the prestigious annual I44 Riverside season opener, but only six could stake their claim at the end.

A former two-time track champion at Tulsa’s Port City Raceway, Guthrie Oklahoma’s headlined the half dozen victors, pounding the fast red clay of I44 Riverside’s fifth-mile oval in wire to wire fashion in his Outlaw class victory.

Starting from the pole position, it was not without a familiar challenge in the form of Tulsa ace Chris Andrews and El Reno’s Kyle Keeler. Keeler offered a brief bid for the point in the mid stages of the 20-lap event, before Andrews advanced from the tail of the field to challenge in the final few laps. Andrews was forced to accept runner up honors with Keeler in tow, while Piedmont’s Grady Chandler advanced from 13th to fourth in his first Outlaw outing.

Trey Marcham won the A Class feature while Steven Shebester topped the non-wing feature.

Kale Drake won the junior sprint race and Tristan Oakes was a winner in the restricted class. Mike Daft was best in the turf tire division.




Posted by on Apr 6 2013 Filed under PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!