Brown Tops Dodge City Modified Go

While Kaup worked forward from the tenth starting position, pole starter May paced the early rounds after a brief battle with fellow front row starter Jordan Meyer for the point.

Woodward, Oklahoma’s Kaup was up to fourth by the fourth lap before disposing of Josh Appel for third on the sixth round and then Tristen Barton for second on the eighth circuit.

Kaup wasted little time reeling in May and racing into the lead for keeps on the ninth round. Kaup checked out only to have his advantage erased by the race’s only action after 15 laps for an incident between Bart Baker and Jimmy Jenkins.

Kaup slipped away again on the restart with Barton racing into second for keeps on the 17th round. Appel filled out the podium in third with May and Austin Walker rounding out the top five.

In the IMCA Stock Car ranks, Lamar, Colorado’s Angel Munoz emerged from a race-long three-car battle for the lead that also included Brandon Fisher and Dusty Witthuhn to take his first DCRP win of the season, putting a halt to Perry Misner’s three-race win streak in the process.

With Fisher and Witthuhn on the front row and Munoz outside row two, the race turned into a three-way battle for the point almost from the outset of the 20-lapper.

Fisher and Witthuhn battled side-by-side much of the way before Witthuhn got loose exiting turn four. While Witthuhn gathered it back in and rejoined the lead battle after the race’s final caution with three laps to go, Munoz pounced on second and then battled Fisher for the lead on the 17th round.

Munoz raced on to the stripe ahead of Fisher and Witthuhn with Josh Crombie and Misner rounding out the top five.

Sonny O’Hair took full advantage of the pole starting position in the Thunder Car feature by leading all 15 lap for his first triumph of the year.

Despite one caution midway through the race, O’Hair went unchallenged as he raced to the stripe ahead of Dan Rogers, who raced from eighth to second in the initial handful of laps. Edwin Elliott raced from 14th to third with Tobby Schield and Will Bauer rounding out the current top five.

Jarett Lunow continued his stranglehold on Hornet action on the inner asphalt oval, racing past Marci O’Hair on the second lap and leading the rest of the way in the 12-lapper for his fourth win in as many tries this year.

Posted by on May 25 2014 Filed under PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!