Busy Night At Marshalltown Oval

MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa — For the third time in just about a week the speedway roared to life with some action pack racing action all night, even the youngsters got involved with some peddle power.

One driver was racing with a very heavy heart after the loss of a family member earlier in the day.

Merv Chandler lead from start to finish in the IMCA Sport Compacts feature to take the win. John Gill and David Moorman battled for runner up position before finally Moorman grabbed it away. Gill settled in to third, Chad Larson came home in fourth and track newcomer Danny Sassman Jr. was fifth.

In the Toby K’s Hideaway Mod Lite feature it was Eric Hendrickson grabbing the lead early before Andy Hennigar worked his way through the field and grabbed the lead away on lap five. Hennigar went on to take his fifth win of the season at MoTown. Josh May, Eric Hendrickson, Dusty Masolini and Mike Kennedy round out the top five.

Eric Larson grabbed the lead at the drop of the green in the Mike’s Hard Lemonade IMCA Hobby Stocks feature but just after the completion of lap one the caution waved when Keith Miner came to a rest in turn four. Larson got a great restart and began to pull away until lap traffic started to slow him down. Larson wasn’t to be denied as he went on to grab the win. Jennifer Hulin came home second, Scott Durlin was third, Eric Stanton was fourth and Gary Pfantz was fifth.

The Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA SportMods feature saw three different leaders the first three laps in the eighteen lapper. Bill Hildreth grab the lead on lap one but it was Johnathan Logue grabbing it away on lap two. Logue’s lead was short lived as Joel Rust took the lead away and began to pull away. Rust pulled away until lap traffic started to slow him down and then the caution waved twice with two laps to go. Rust held off Ben Kates, Jenae Gustin and Eric Elliott to take the win. Ben Kates came home in the runner-up position for the second week in a row. Eric Elliott was third, Jenae Gustin was fourth and Jared Van Deest was fifth.

Jay Schmidt grabbed the lead right away in the Amsoil IMCA Stock Car feature but just after the completion of lap one the caution waved. Schmidt got a great restart and pulled away until he encountered lap traffic which allowed Steve Meyer and Damon Murty to chase him down. Meyer and Murty only got within a few car lengths and wasn’t able to get by Schmidt, Schmidt went on to take his second consecutive win and third win at MoTown. Meyer finished second, Murty in third, Jeff Wollam was fourth and Eric Knutson in fifth.

Final feature of the night was the Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel IMCA Modifieds feautre and before one lap was completed the caution waved twice. Kyle Brown grabbed the lead on lap one when the race finally got going. Joel Bushore snuck by on lap two to take the lead but it was Ronn Lauritzen that grabbed the lead away on lap three. Lauritzen started to pull away and the only that slowed him down was lap traffic, as Lauritzen went on to take his third win of the season but this one was very emotional one as earlier in the day he lost a very close family member to him. Jon Snyder, Luke Wanninger, Joel Bushore and Adam Larson rounded out the top five.


Posted by on Jul 6 2013 Filed under PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!