Championship Night At Davenport

DAVENPORT, Iowa — Friday was Season Championship Night at the Davenport Speedway. With the Season Championships on the line, the point leader in each class was offered the Back Row Challenge, where a win would pay double the prize money.

The Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model feature went green, white, checkered with Ray Guss Jr. leading all but the very first lap. That lap was led by point leader and polesitter Mike Murphy Jr.

Guss started the race on the high side and was closely followed by Murphy. When the high groove started to wear out, Guss dropped to the bottom and began to pull away from Murphy.

As Guss was extending his lead, Andy Nezworski also used the bottom of the racetrack to pass Murphy and move into second. Guss took the checkers more than a straightaway ahead of Nezworski in second. The win was the second of the season for Guss.

Murphy’s third place finish was more than enough to guarantee him the track title over Guss. Mike Zemo Jr. finished fourth, with Justin Kay edging out Matt Ryan for fifth.

The only driver to accept the Back Row Challenge was EMS IMCA Modified point leader Doug Crampton, although he didn’t go there voluntarily. Crampton’s racecar developed mechanical woes during his heat race. Doug borrowed Jason Bahr’s mod to start the feature and was forced to start in the rear.

At the front of the pack, Kelly Meyer rocketed out front to lead lap one. The caution flag came out on lap two. After the restart, Bob Dominacki, riding the high side, raced into the lead. Dominacki would lead until lap 19.

In heavy lapped traffic, Meyer dropped to the bottom and reeled in the leader. Coming to the white flag, Meyer retook the lead.

At the finish, it was Meyer winning his second straight feature. Dominacki held on for second. Thad Wilson took third, with Dean McGee and Brian Bushong completing the top five. Crampton finished eighth and captured the modified track championship.

Jeremy Marquette led all fifteen laps of the Koehler Electric Street Stock feature. The victory was his fourth of the season and locked down his third Street Stock track championship. RJ Gonzales was best of the rest, finishing second, ahead of Jerry Pratt. Kevin Dickey and Keith Blum rounded out the top five.

Aaron Hitt was looking to put an exclamation point on his championship season in the Roto-Rooter 4 Stock main. Hitt started on the pole and led the first seven laps. A caution on lap eight allow the field to pull up to his rear bumper for the restart.

The restart gave Andy Loy a chance to pass Hitt on the bottom of the racetrack. Loy would lead the remaining laps and capture his first feature win at Davenport. Gage Neal and Jake Ellithorpe would also pass Hitt and finish second and third respectively. Hitt crossed the stripe in fourth and sealed his championship. Nick Bennett finished fifth.


Posted by on Aug 25 2012 Filed under PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!