Forler Tuns Up At Dodge City

Logan Forler claimed victory in the NCRA sprint-car feature Saturday at Dodge City Raceway Park. (Lonnie Wheatley Photo)

DODGE CITY, Kan. – Washington state native Logan Forler turned in a dominant drive to win Saturday night’s National Championship Racing Ass’n sprint-car 25-lap feature event at Dodge City Raceway Park.

A Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MavTV National Tour contender tuning up for the upcoming Sept. 1-2 event at Dodge City Raceway Park, Forler drove to a half lap in his heat race from the second row outside starting position to earn the pole position for the main event with Quinter, KS, shoe C.J. Johnson alongside.

Forler, a Washington native that calls Lake Havasu City, Ariz., home, gunned into the lead at the outset aboard Harley Van Dyke’s No. 5h entry and never looked back. With just one caution slowing the way after three laps, Forler reached traffic before the midway point and worked traffic the rest of the way.

Forler held a straightaway lead much of the way, though Johnson cut the gap in half by the time the checkered flag flew. Forler and Johnson crossed the stripe ahead of Turpin, Oklahoma’s Taylor Velasquez in third.

Cody Gearhart became the sixth different winner of the year in IMCA modified action and did so in dramatic fashion. After starting eleventh, Gearhart worked the top side of the track to take the lead away from race-long pacesetter Van Gemmill on the white flag lap of the 20-lapper.

Gearhart took the bottom away in the final pair of corners to secure the win, with Gemmill, Mike Martin, Nick Link and Beau Davis rounding out the top five.

Austin Walker became the sixth different winner in seven United Wireless IMCA sport modified main events by leading the final ten circuits of the 15-lapper after dicing for the point for several laps midway through with Jeff Kaup.

Walker took the checkered flag ahead of Kaup, with Brian May, opening lap leader Mike Appel and Bart Baker rounding out the top five.

Dusty Witthuhn took advantage of a late tangle between Billy Phelps and Perry Misner to score his first IMCA Stock Car feature win of the year. Phelps led most of way, but point leader Misner was closing the gap until contact entering turn three on the white flag lap sent Phelps into a spin.

Witthuhn charged into the lead, but Phelps bounced back only to lose by little more than a bumper at the finish line. Misner settled for the show position behind Witthuhn and Phelps, with Reagan Sellard and Mel Law rounding out the top five.

Toby Schield steered clear of trouble to win his first Poor Boy Kustomz Thunder Car feature of the year, taking the checkered flag ahead of Cody Davis, Edwin Elliott, Dustin Walker and Dan Rogers.

Posted by on Aug 12 2012 Filed under PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!