Gemmill Romps Dodge City Field

Brendon Gemmill picked up his third IMCA modified victory of the year at Dodge City Raceway Park Saturday night. (Lonnie Wheatley Photo)

DODGE CITY, Kan. – Brendon Gemmill put the wraps on Fan Appreciation Night at Dodge City Raceway Park on Saturday by racing to his third IMCA modified feature win of the year atop the three-eighths-mile clay oval.

Though he gridded the IMCA modified feature event five rows deep, Gemmill wasted little time taking to the top side of the track to move forward.

Already fifth by the time a caution flew after four laps for debris, the reigning track champion needed less than two more laps to race by early leader Mike Lunow on the top side.

Gemmill worked the cushion relentlessly to lead the final 14 circuits, moving back atop the track point charts in the process. Gemmill took the checkered flag ahead of Pat McVicker, with Beau Davis, Lunow and Casey Jo Wanger rounding out the top five.

With a season-high 19 United Wireless IMCA Sport Modifieds on hand, Trent Kleweno took quick advantage of Jeff Kaup’s midrace misfortune to become the fifth different winner in as many Sport Mod mains at DCRP this year.

Kaup took the lead away from And Barton on the second round of the IMCA Sport Mod 20-lapper, with Josh Appel and seventh-starter Kleweno in tow. Kleweno took second from Appel after a lap seven caution and then assumed the point when Kaup pulled pitside with mechanical woes on the 15th round.

Kleweno paced the final half dozen circuits to take the checkered flag ahead of Austin Walker, Barton, Clay Sellard and Blaine Walt.

Stepping into the team No. 80 machine instead of his familiar No. 20 IMCA Stock Car, the results were much the same for Perry Misner as he earned his fourth win in five tries thus far at DCRP in 2012.

After dodging a pair of early melees, Misner raced past Randy Dowell on the third round and then held off the charges of Tyler Tipton over the final handul of laps in the 15-lap feature. Misner and Tipton took the checkered flag ahead of Dowell, Nick Tubbs and Dustin Witthuhn.

Bryan Habiger raced past Dustin Carr on the second lap of the 15-lap Poor Boy Kustomz Thunder Car feature and then repelled a host of challengers much of the way to post the win in front of Randle McRoberts, Dan Rogers, Shelby Staple and W.D. Matteson.

Dewayne Bowman worked traffic to his advantage to take the lead from Jarett Lunow midway through the 12-lap Hornet main event atop the asphalt oval and then raced on to a convincing victory over Lunow, who had taken the early lead away from Brandon Bogner on the fourth round. Tristan Barton claimed the show position, with Derrick Sprott and Jarred Nightengale rounding out the top five.

Posted by on Jul 8 2012 Filed under PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!