Harkema Is Queen Of The Send-Off

Katie Harkema won the title of Queen of the Send-Off on Sunday at Rocky Mountain Raceways. (Chris Dake photo)

Katie Harkema won the title of Queen of the Send-Off on Sunday at Rocky Mountain Raceways. (Chris Dake photo)

WEST VALLEY CITY, Utah – Katie Harkema claimed Rocky Mountain Raceways’ Queen of the Send-Off title on Sunday. Harkema won the most rounds during the Summer Send-Off weekend. She made it to the final round in the Electronics class both Saturday and Sunday.

Utah local Tracy Holt won Sunday’s Electronics final round against Harkema, posting a 4.660 e.t., on a 4.65 dial-in, over Harkema’s 5.187 e.t. on a 5.21 dial-in. Dan Lafferty, from Wendell, Idaho, took home the Electronics win on Saturday, besting Harkema in the final round with a 7.504 e.t. on a 7.50 dial-in over Harkema’s 8.093 e.t. on a 8.10 dial-in. In addition to bragging rights, Harkema will take home a set of Hoosier slicks, a drum of Sunoco fuel, and a host of other prizes.
Saturday’s drag racing action also included Non Electronics, Top Junior, Quick Junior, and Nitro Funny Cars.

Scott Parsons, from Monroe, Utah posted a 10.33 dial-in for Saturday’s Non-Electronics final where he faced off against Magna, Utah resident Dan Pratt. Parsons claimed the win over Pratt with a 10.364 e.t. on the scoreboard at 120.69 mph.

Brothers Jared and Jake Jones went head-to-head in the Top Junior final round. Jared Jones prevailed with an 8.018 e.t., beating Jake’s 8.033 e.t. on the 8.0 dial-in. Seth Anderson, a recent NHRA Jr. Drag Racing League Western Conference Finals winner, bested Shante Henderson for the Quick Junior win, running 9.064 e.t on a 9.07 dial-in.

James Day in the Pedaler posted the top speed of Saturday’s first round of Nitro Funny Cars with a 5.920 e.t. at 238.53 mph. Dale Van Gundy piloted the Quarter Pounder to the second round’s best performance with a 6.029 e.t. at 236.46 mph.

Sunday featured 1/8 mile drag racing on Rocky Mountain Raceways’ Young Kia Drag Strip. West Jordan, Utah resident Jeff Durfey raced his ’08 Kawasaki to victory in the final round of Non-Electronics, posting a 5.897 e.t. on a 5.90 dial-in, against Jesse Sanderson’s 7.431 e.t. on a 7.46 dial-in.

Posted by on Aug 24 2014 Filed under PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Related Articles

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!