Hawkeye Dirt Tour Win Goes To Schroeder

OSKALOOSA, Iowa – While the list of entries came from eight states and Canada, it was a driver from the Hawkeye State in victory lane following Tuesday’s XSAN Hawkeye Dirt Tour main event at Southern Iowa Speedway.

Andrew Schroeder took advantage when race-long leader Todd Shute got high in traffic with four circuits left in the IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified series 25-lapper, going low coming out of the second turn to take the front spot away.

Schroeder pulled away to win by five car lengths, earning $1,000 and a spot on the ballot for the 2014 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.
Shute had started on the pole and ended second in the latest Hawkeye Dirt Tour feature to run caution free. Monday night HDT winner and current point leader Mike Van Genderen, Luke Wan­ninger and Jacob Murray completed the top five.

After wrestling second away from Van Genderen on lap 11, Schroeder tried to sneak inside Shute, who pulled ahead and looked to have the race in hand until encountering the back of the field on lap 18.

Schroeder cut into Shute’s advantage and pounced when the leader got too high late in the race.

Aside from the mandatory caution at halfway of Sunday’s Hogan Memorial special, only one yel­low has flown during 95 laps and the first three events of the July 13-17 Hawkeye State Modified Speedweek.

In addition to Iowa, Modified entries for the fourth tour race of the season hailed from Arizona, Illinois, Kansas, Missouri, Nevada, Oklahoma and Texas, plus the Canadian province of Saskatche­wan.

Other winners Tuesday at Osky were Todd Cooney in the IMCA Late Models, Cayden Carter in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Brett Lowry in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and Mike Hughes in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks.

The finish:

Andrew Schroeder; Todd Shute; Mike Van Gen­deren; Luke Wanninger; Jacob Murray; eremy Mills; Colt Mather; Jesse Sobbing; Kurt Kile; Aaron Turnbull; Cayden Carter; Richie Gustin; Mark Elliott; Nick Roberts; Scott Dickey; Jeff Joldersma; Mike Jergens; Jeff Waterman; Ronn Lauritzen; Hunter Marriott; Jason Schoenberger; Tim Ward;  Scott Drake


Posted by on Jul 16 2014 Filed under PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!