Ian Madsen Conquers Knoxville Competition

KNOXVILLE, Iowa – Ian Madsen was victorious for the second time this season and the fourth time in his career at the Knoxville Raceway on Saturday night in the 410 feature.

A roller coaster A main saw just 15 competitors cross the checkers at the finish. In the 360 class, Justin Henderson won for the second time this season, padding the BDS Motorsports No. 1 owner’s point lead in that class.

Before a lap could be completed in the 410 A main, Austen Wheatley flipped after contact from another car. Danny Lasoski spun to avoid the incident. Wheatley was o.k., and Lasoski restarted at the tail.

On the complete restart of the 20-lapper, Dusty Zomer took command from the pole, with Madsen and Mark Dobmeier in tow. With just a lap in the books, Cole Wood flipped hard in turn one. He was also uninjured. After the race went green again, Madsen found his way by Zomer on lap three to take the point.

Brian Brown was on the move as well, going from eighth to fifth on lap one, and taking fourth from Dobmeier on lap five. Madsen and Zomer traded the lead briefly at the halfway point, with Madsen pulling away. On lap fourteen, Brown passed Dobmeier for third and set his sights on the leaders.

Point leader, Terry McCarl, who had to work his way through the B, stalled with motor problems with 15 laps in the books. Clint Garner, who was running seventh, spun to avoid him and had to restart at the tail. Madsen led Zomer, Brown, Dobmeier and Bronson Maeschen back to green flag racing. Brown made quick work of Zomer to move into second.

Two laps later, a vicious three-car crash ensued involving Lynton Jeffrey, Jon Agan and Dakota Hendrickson. All three climbed from their machines. Brown slid in front of Madsen when the green replaced the red, but surrendered the lead down the backstretch. When he tried to enter under Madsen in turn three, he caught the berm, made contact with the leader and launched straight into the fence. He too, walked away.

That would prove to be the final stoppage of the event. Zomer shot in front of Madsen in turns one and two when the green flew, but Madsen ducked back under to pull away for a win worth $3,000 to the Nehring #18 team. Zomer followed in second, ahead of Craig Dollansky, Dobmeier and Lasoski, from the tail. Maeschen, Davey Heskin, Justin Henderson, Don Droud Jr. and Sam Hafertepe Jr. rounded out the top 10.

Posted by on Jul 27 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!