Kay, Zogg Score Victories At Davenport

DAVENPORT, Iowa – Friday marked Mid-Season Night at the Davenport Speedway.

The point leader in each class was given the Back Row Challenge with the option of starting last in the feature, for double the prize money, if they win. Three of five point leaders accepted the challenge, but each would finish short of victory lane. The evening’s racing program was sponsored by JC Dubil.

Justin Kay scored his second straight and third point win of the season in Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model action. Matt Ryan took the lead from the pole position and led the first seven laps.

Spencer Diercks would lead the way for the next four circuits, with Kay finally taking the lead on lap twelve. Kay would cruise the rest of the way to the checkers and the win.

Diercks would fend off Nate Bueseling to finish second. Ryan and Todd Malmstrom completed the top five. Kay, Ray Guss Jr., and Mike Murphy Jr. won the late model heats.

Chris Zogg would also record his second straight and third point win of the season in the Milan Heating & Air IMCA Modified feature. Zogg grabbed the lead from Bob Dominacki on lap twelve. The twenty lap main was shortened by a lap as the caution flag flew after the leader had taken the white flag.

Kurt Kile made a late charge to finish second with Mitch Morris third. Bob Dominacki was fourth and Milo Veloz Jr. fifth.

Jeremy Marquette captured his first victory of the season, in the Koehler Electric Street Stock division. Marquette took the lead after a lap six restart and never looked back. Andrew Burk finished second with Cord Williams third.

Point leader Donnie Louck accepted the Back Row Challenge in the feature and would get as close as second before finishing fourth. Early race leader Cary Brown was fifth.

Austin Moyer, fresh off his victory in last week’s SportMod Challenge 50, collected his first point win at Davenport in the Hawkeye Auto IMCA SportMod main.

Moyer took the lead after a lap three restart and dominated the rest of the way to the checkers. Point leader Bryce Garnhart came from the back row, but would have to settle for a distant second. Henry Carson had a solid run in third and was followed to the checkers by Joe Grant and Doug Burkhead.

Brandon Dahl got back into the winner’s circle in the Roto-Rooter 4-Stock division.

Posted by on Jun 21 2014 Filed under PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!