Make It Five Wins For Kay At Davenport

DAVENPORT, Iowa – The racing was side-by-side and sometimes four wide on what turned out to be a beautiful night for racing at Davenport Speedway.

The evening yielded three repeat winners, two first-timers, and a pair of victors in the powder puff races.

Justin Kay collected win number five in Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model action. Justin took the lead from Joe Zrostlik on a lap seven restart and never looked back. Mike Zemo Jr. finished in the runner-up spot. Brunson Behning, Joe Zrostlik, and Todd Malmstrom completed the top five, in that order.

In the Milan Heating and Air IMCA Modified feature, Joe Beal paid his first visit to victory lane in 2014. Beal got by Dean McGee on a lap five restart to take the lead. Tony VonDresky passed Beal after a lap eleven restart, but Beal came storming back on the high side on lap fourteen to take the lead for good.
VonDresky held on for second, with Dean McGee finishing third. Brian Bushong and Doug Crampton rounded out the top five.

Cary Brown captured a long-awaited Koehler Electric Street Stock feature victory. Brown passed Rick Schriner on a lap two restart and led the rest of the way to the checkers. Donnie Louck started twelfth and finished second. Schriner held on for third and was followed by Keith Blum and Gerald Ward.

Doug Burkhead returned to victory lane for the third time this season in the Hawkeye Auto IMCA SportMod division. Burkhead used a lap six restart to pass Jacob Beal for the lead. Bryce Garnhart also passed Beal late in the race to finish second. Henry Carson and Gary Rentfro were fourth and fifth respectively.

The Roto-Rooter 4-Stock feature went non-stop for the second straight week with four lead changes in twelve laps. Brandon Dahl picked up win number three on the season. Brandon passed his brother Zach for the lead on lap five, lost it to Aaron Hitt on lap eleven, but came back on the final lap to take the checkers. Hitt would finish second with Zach Dahl third. Andy Loy took fourth and Jake Benischek fifth.

The finish:

Justin Kay; Mike Zemo Jr.; Brunson Behning; Joe Zrostlik; Todd Malmstrom; Nate Bueseling; Matt Ryan; Scott Fitzpatrick; LeRoy Brenner; Gary Webb; Shaune Lewis; Travis Denning; Marty Scheckel; Chuck Hanna; Duane Christisen; Marty Diercks

Posted by on Jul 12 2014 Filed under PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!