Mills Masters Des Moines Frostbuster

DES MOINES, Iowa — A long run at the front ended with Jeremy Mills cashing in a $1,000 IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified feature win Thursday at the Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway Frostbuster.

The new Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifier took over the lead when Todd Shute ex¬ited with mechanical issues on the fourth circuit. Mills proceeded to set the fast pace for the rest of the 20-lapper, winning ahead of Cayden Carter and North Carolina traveler Kyle Strickler.

Jake Durbin and Jay Noteboom rounded out the top five.

Damon Murty topped the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature, Shannon Anderson was the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock winner and Rick Gladson led start to finish in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main.

Mike Johnston led the first 10 laps of the caution-slowed Stock Car main. Murty took charge on the final restart while Jeff Anderson raced from 19th starting to second.

Nathan Wood, Johnston and Gary Bass followed at the finish.

Shannon Anderson made the most of his pole start, leading all the way in the Hobby Stock show despite a couple early cautions and another yellow in the late stages.

Dustin Griffiths slipped by Danny Watson for second with a couple laps left. Eric Stanton was fourth and Ben Bruck fifth.

Early cautions didn’t prevent Gladson from maintaining his place at the head of the Northern SportMod class. Carter VanDenBerg, Blain Peterson, Glenn Gladson Jr. and Tracy Wassenberg finish second through fifth, respectively.


Posted by on Apr 5 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!