Murray Leads Dodge City Winners List

Kenny Sweet rounded out the top five in front of Gray, Strawn Taylor, 17th-starter Jesse Smith and 20th-starter Nate Moore, while Allen slipped five positions on the final lap to tenth after looping it on the frontstretch after contact as the white flag flew.

In United Wireless IMCA Sport Modified action, Utica’s Austin Walker battled past Mike Appel on the 17th round of the 20-lapper en route to his second DCRP win of the year.

With Walker starting in the second row, front row outside starter Colby Hagans and fourth-starter Mike Appel swapped the point a couple of times in the initial half rounds before Appel claimed command at the halfway point.

Hagans broke soon after Appel took command, with Walker turning the heat up on Appel before taking the lead and pacing the final four circuits to take the checkered flag just ahead of Toby Witthuhn with Matthew Crowell, current point leader Jeff Kaup and Appel rounding out the top five.

Leading the final half of the 20-lap IMCA Stock Car feature, Brandon Fisher  survived a wild battle in the closing laps to claim his first win of the year.

Front row outside starter Brett Copeland paced the initial seven circuits of the Stock Car feature before looping it in turn two and handing the lead to 10th-starter Billy Phelps with eighth-starter Fisher taking advantage soon after a lap nine restart to take command.

Fisher had plenty of company over the final rounds with heavy pressure from Tyler Tipton and then a late charge from Michael Pepper, who was gunning to become the first repeat winner of the year.

Pepper charged into turn three and made contact with Fisher, with Fisher holding on to nip Tipton at the line by inches as Pepper saved it as well to cross behind the lead duo. Pepper was awarded second when Tipton’s mount failed to pass technical inspection with Phelps and Mel Law filling out the top five.

Dodge City’s David Shumard took command on the 12th round then hold off a charge from Cody Davis to snare his first 20-lap Thunder Car feature win of the year.

With Shumard working from the sixth starting position into second by the third round, front row outside starter Michael Penrod paced the field until the race’s first caution flew after 11 laps. On the restart however, Penrod’s mount stumbled with Shumard and Tobby Schield taking quick advantage.

After contact from Schield, Shumard had his hands full with Davis and Matt O’Hair over the final rounds before securing the win over Davis, O’Hair and David Berger with Schield rebounding for a top five finish.

Posted by on Jul 20 2013 Filed under PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!