Thorn Speeds To Rocky Mtn Win

Derek Thorn (43) leads the pack during Monday's race at Utah's Rocky Mountain Raceways. (Rocky Mountain Raceways photo)

Derek Thorn (43) leads the pack during Monday’s race at Utah’s Rocky Mountain Raceways. (Rocky Mountain Raceways photo)

WEST VALLEY CITY, Utah – Derek Thorn claimed the Century Motorsports and Marine 125 win on Monday at Utah’s Rocky Mountain Raceways.

It’s his third win at Rocky Mountain Raceways with the SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour. He secured the checkered flag in 2012 and 2013. Thorn also won the Rockwell Watches Fast Time Award with a 14.718-second lap. Brandon White came in second, Greg Voigt came in third, Jacob Gomes followed in fourth, and Jeremy Doss rounded out the top five.

Five states were represented at the SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour’s fourth appearance at Rocky Mountain Raceways: Arizona, California, Nevada, Utah, and Washington.

After a three-year hiatus, Michael Daniels secured the first Focus Midget win of the season, finishing ahead of Eric Barlow in second, Jim Waters in third, Jeff Kelley in fourth, and Jeanille Waters finished in fifth. At 15 years old, this was Jeanille Waters’ debut in the Focus Midget class. She raced double-duty, joining Rocky Mountain Raceways’ new Jr. Stinger youth racing series. Nathan Westmoreland took home the series’ first-ever trophy, finishing ahead of Waters in second, and Preslie Thorne in third.

Posted by on May 27 2014 Filed under PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!