Whetstone Rules Rocky Mt. Modifieds

Tyler Whetstone (00) battles Lynn Hardy at Utah's Rocky Mountain Raceways.

Tyler Whetstone (00) battles Lynn Hardy at Utah’s Rocky Mountain Raceways.

WEST VALLEY CITY, Utah — Defending Maverik Modified champion Tyler Whetstone secured the win at Rocky Mountain Raceways’ Modified 100 Saturday night.

Whetstone survived several restarts as a series of cautions unfolded within the eager field behind him. Starting in the eighth position, Whetstone took the lead on lap 30 and checked out for the remaining 70 laps, gaining significant ground between cautions.

Veteran driver Lynn Hardy came in second, racing a consistent line, telling of his championed background and experience behind the wheel. Hardy started the race in ninth and settled in for the first place hunt at the halfway point. Despite several strong restarts and passing attempts, Hardy was not able to make a pass stick for the lead.

Barry Egolf, Johnny Luttmer and Eric Rhead completed the top five.

Eric Barlow won the midget feature and Corey Walker topped the figure-8 race. Todd Ripley claimed victory in the hornet main event.


Posted by on Jun 22 2014 Filed under PLAINS, Racing Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!