GM Among AMS Winners

HAMPTON, Ga. — Atlanta Motor Speedway’s short-track racing series, Thursday Thunder, featured two back-to-back winners and one driver continuing to make history with the most series wins during week two of competition.

The Pro feature began with Austin Hill on the pole. On lap three, four-time Pro champion Doug Stevens, who was substitute driving for Sean Rayhall, got a nose on the inside of Hill in turn two to become the race leader. In the end, Stevens took the checkered flag, but the win was scored to Rayhall. It would have been Stevens 28th Thursday Thunder feature win.

Atlanta Motor Speedway General Manager Ed Clark started out front for the Masters feature. Clark was untouchable, leading every lap to pick up his second career Thursday Thunder Masters win. In his post-race interview, Clark attributed his win to AdvoCare’s new energy drink, Spark. AdvoCare is the sponsor of the Sept. 4 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race, the AdvoCare 500.

The Papa John’s Bandits feature kicked off with Ashton Winger as the point man. Chandler Smith and Winger swapped the lead in the early laps, but Joshua Hicks maneuvered his way to the front. The race was shortened due to several lengthy caution periods, but Hicks held on to log his second-straight Thursday Thunder win.

The 2009 Outlaws Champion Luke Behnke was the pole sitter for the Semi-Pro feature. Behnke was strong, leading every lap to collect the win.

Scott Kasparek paced the field to the green for the Buzz Car feature. On the second lap, Kasparek went into turn one too hot and Alan Nolan inherited the lead. Dave Sherman marched to the front on lap seven. The Buzz Car field was tight, with every car seeming to get into each other. By the halfway point, Gary Zajdek was out front, but Sherman battled to take the lead back and the snag the win.

The Young Lions feature opened with Benjamin Rhodes in the lead. On lap three, 2008 Bandits Champion Mason Massey shot to the top spot. Massey held off Rhodes who was glued to his bumper to claim is 10th Thursday Thunder victory.

The Roadsters feature got underway with Ed Clark as the leader. Skip Nichols shot to the front early on. Nichols led the remaining circuits to capture his 31st career Thursday Thunder win and continued to pad his record of having the most Thursday Thunder wins in the series history.

Madeline Crane took the green flag to set off the Outlaws feature. Crane slid high in turn four on lap 12 allowing points leader Parker Barnes to take the lead and the eventual win, posting back-to-back victories in weeks one and two.


Posted by on Jun 10 2011 Filed under Racing Nation, SOUTH. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!