Shryock Tops Texas Mod Qualifier

FT. WORTH, Texas — Drivers from 11 states and one Canadian province signed in for Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track’s annual Texas World Dirt Track Championships, presented by Port-a-Cool.

More than 150 modifieds and limited modifieds did battle on the four-tenths-mile dirt oval with drivers looking to pick up one of eight qualifying spots in each of the night’s qualifying features.

Kelly Shryock showed the 24-car car modified field nothing but his rear bumper going wire to wire in the 15-lap A-qualifier. Shryock, who earned the pole with the most passing points, beat Tyler Townsend into turn one and that was all he needed. Bobby Malchus, who won in 2010, tried his best to chase Shryock, but to no avail as Shryock eased away at the finish.

Chris Henigan, Chris Brown and Corey Babbitt rounded out the top five.

Dennie Gieber held off Steve Whiteaker Jr. to claim the limited modified qualifying feature.




Posted by on Mar 3 2012 Filed under Latest Headlines, Racing Nation, SOUTH. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!