Racing Nation

East Bay Finally Beats Mother Nature

The Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds were next with Buzzie Reutimann and Austin Sanders winning their heats. Bobby Dixon and Thomas Pratt started on the front row when the green flag waved. On lap one it was Bobby Dixon and Devin Dixon battling for the lead and it was Devin by just a nose over Bobby at the line. First caution would come out just a few laps later as Dale Kelley spun in turn four. When the green waved once again, Dixon had Matt Miller charging hard lap after lap.

On lap five it was the two side by side at the line with Dixon heading into turn one and going on to pick up the feature win. Rounding out the top five were Matt Miller, Austin Sanders, Bobby Dixon and Bruce Harvey. It was a very emotional win for Devin as tears rolled down his face and he dedicated his win to Team Tripp. Young Tripp Wayne Amundsen was born with Lissenchephaly and passed away just 16 days after he was born.

Next feature event was the V8 Warriors as Tommy Hill and Kevin Cassady won their heats and made up the front row. When the green waved it was Tommy Hill taking the lead for the first four laps until second place Jeff Weaver spun in turn two. Hill took the green once again and had a sizeable lead until caution came out with just three laps remaining for debris on the track.

On the restart it was Brett Phillips coming to rest before the next lap could be scored.It was Tommy Hill taking the checkered flag once again as he did in the Street Stocks, but this time he was found legal and picked up the win. Rounding out the top five were Bill Whitney, Kevin Cassaday, Jeff Weaver and Ron Smith.

The final feature of the night went to the Florida Old Time Modifieds. Winning their heats were Tom McDonald and Dan Darnell. For the front row it was McDonald and Gary Riccio. When the green waved it was Lars Amundsen charging up from the middle of the field to take over the top spot on lap one. Amundsen would lead until lap seven when David Kelly would take the lead and go on to win as Darnell charged up from the rear of the field almost taking the win at the line. Darnell would go on to finish second with Jamie Franklin, Lars Amundsen and Gary Riccio rounding out the top five.

Posted by on Jul 21 2013 Filed under Racing Nation, SOUTHEAST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!