East Claims Media Mayhem Victory

Time Warner Cable News meteorologist Matthew East celebrates his Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series Media Mayhem school bus race win. (CMS/Jonathan Coleman photo)

Time Warner Cable News meteorologist Matthew East celebrates his Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series Media Mayhem school bus race win. (CMS/Jonathan Coleman photo)

CONCORD, N.C. – Tuesday night, Time Warner Cable News meteorologist Matthew East finally collected a Media Mayhem School Bus Slobberknocker trophy during Week Three of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series.

Other feature winners of the night included Daniel Hemric, Jensen Jorgenson and Josh Turner, among others.

After starting shotgun on the field, East made his way to the front after a late race field inversion and collected his first Media Mayhem school bus race victory after trying for several years. Otis, of Kiss 95.1, jumped out to an early lead, while East, NBC Charlotte meteorologist Brad Panovich, WCCB sports anchor Brandon Davidow and Fox 46 meteorologist Rob Eicher tried to go four-wide into the first turn.

When the checkered flag flew, it was East with the victory, Dillner in second, WKKT’s Kris Stevens in third, Eicher in fourth, Otis in fifth, Conklin in sixth, Davidow in seventh and Panovich in eighth.

Hemric, of Kannapolis, N.C., won his third race of the season in the Legend Car Pro feature, charging from a starting position in mid pack during the 25-lap race. Jordan Black took the lead early after starting on the front row, but by the third lap, Kason Plott had overtaken him for the top spot.

On the final restart, Hemric chose the outside lane alongside Plott and was able to pull away to collect the win. William Byron finished second, Plott finished third, Black finished fourth and Zane Smith rounded out the top five.

After losing his father this week, Turner raced his way to victory lane in the rain-soaked Quaker Steak and Lube Legend Car Semi Pro feature. As the rain started to fall on lap 7, Turner rapidly made his way to the front, eluding wrecks that drew caution flags on four straight laps. The saturated track caused countless spinouts and difficulties that forced three cars to the garage including points leader, Riley Halverson.

Turner however was unfazed by the wet track, taking the lead on lap 13 and never looking back, finishing a whopping 11.863 seconds ahead of the previous week’s winner, Devin O’Connell. Despite spinning out, Josh Brimecombe made his way to a podium finish for the third time this season with a third place. Connor Pyle finished in fourth, edging out John Holleman, who led the race before getting involved in a wreck on lap 10, by just 0.175 seconds.

The Bandolero Outlaws battled through a rough and tumble race riddled with cautions on Tuesdaynight. Pole sitter Jorgenson, of Stockbridge, Ga., was sent back due to an inversion but fought hard to ultimately take the checkered flag.

Purdy followed in second, Winger took third, Fread finished fourth and Powell finished fifth.

Other winners included Tom Pistone, of Mooresville, N.C.; in the Legend Car Security Force Masters division; Michael Womack, of Fallbrook, Calif., in the Legend Car Young Lions division; Chandler Smith, of Talking Rock, Ga., in the Bandolero Bandits; and Elijah Todd, of Spartanburg, S.C., in the Beginner Bandits.

Posted by on Jun 25 2014 Filed under Racing Nation, SOUTHEAST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Related Articles

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!