Fitzgerald Captures Scott Thompson Memorial

Jason Fitzgerald won Saturday's 50-lap late-model event at East Bay Raceway Park. (R.E. Wing Photo)

Jason Fitzgerald won Saturday’s 50-lap late-model event at East Bay Raceway Park. (R.E. Wing Photo)

GIBSONTON, Fla. – Jason Fitzgerald picked up $4,000 for winning Saturday’s Scott Thompson Memorial late-model feature at East Bay Raceway Park.

Phillip Cobb and Devin Dixon started on the front row for the feature. When the green flag waved it was Dixon taking charge over Cobb and Mark Whitener until lap two when the first caution came out as several cars got together. Dixon would lead once again until lap five as rookie Megan Meyer and the 2011 winner Travis Varnadore tangled on the backstretch. Both drivers would have to retire and ended both of their nights.

The green flag waved once again as Whitener would take over on lap 10, getting by Cobb. On lap 16 Cobb slowed in turn four, ending his night. Whitener would lead the field to the green flag during the restart as Shan Smith and Jack Nosbisch Jr. gave chase. The next caution would come out on lap 17 as Scott Lagasee Jr. spun in turn two. Caution would also come out on lap 20 as Darrell Padgett slowed in turn two.

Whitener continued to lead with Nosbisch Jr., Smith, Fitzgerald and Keith Nosbisch all following in his tire tracks. Austin Kirkpatrick slowed down and had a right rear go flat, bringing out the caution on lap 34. It was then a single file restart on lap 40, but on lap 41 the 2010 winner Doug Horton also had a right-rear flat ending, his bid.

Several more cautions came out until the final restart with Whitener still in charge with Smith, Nosbisch, Nosbisch Jr. and Ivadent Lloyd Jr. now up to the fifth spot. Whitener appeared to have his third event victory in hand, but with just two laps to go Fitzgerald completed a charge through the field by overtaking Whitener to win his first Scott Thompson Memorial.

Rounding out the top five was the 2009 winner Nosbisch, Smith, Lloyd. and Nosbisch Jr.

Other feature winners Saturday were Tim Gay (street stocks) and Jason Webster (sprints).

Posted by on Apr 13 2014 Filed under Racing Nation, SOUTHEAST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!