Kyle Benjamin Tames Rattler 250

OPP, Ala. – Kyle Benjamin drove by Casey Smith with less than 30 laps left and pulled away to win Sunday’s 37th annual Rattler 250 for super late models at South Alabama Speedway.

Smith was the leader when the field returned to racing on lap 215 after the final caution flag of the day, caused by Bubba Pollard’s expiring engine. Benjamin restarted second and quickly began challenging Smith, hounding him for several laps.

Benjamin made his move with 29 laps left, finally muscling his way around Smith to take over the lead at the four-tenths-mile asphalt oval. Stephen Nasse made a late-race charge, but he didn’t have enough to catch Benjamin and settled for second.

Smith finished the race in third, followed by T.J. Reaid and Jeff Fultz. Korey Rubble won the companion 125-lap Pro Rattler 125 for pro late models.

The finish:

Kyle Benjamin, Stephen Nasse, Casey Smith, T.J. Reaid, Jeff Fultz, Hunter Robbins, Anderson Bowen, Jeff Choquette, Brandon Hermiller, Mason Massey, Allen Karnes, Bubba Pollard, Chad Finley, Mike Garvey, Donnie Wilson, Ross Kenseth, Logan Boyett, Brandon Odom, Augie Grill, Chris Wimmer.

Posted by on Mar 17 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Racing Nation, SOUTHEAST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!