Maddox Inherits Top Gun Triumph

OCALA, Fla. – A.J. Maddox was declared the winner of the Twisted Tea Top Gun Sprint Car Series feature at Bubba Raceway Park Saturday evening when initial winner Tyler Godwin was disqualified.

Robbie Smith took the lead at the start, but on lap three he made the mistake of jumping the burm, sending him for a spin.

Godwin would inherit the lead with Maddox, Danny Martin, Jr., Stephen Darvalics, and Tony Agin in the top five.

On lap 6 Brandon Grubaugh hit turbulence and the wall would meet the right side of his car, slowing the field once again. Godwin continued to lead Maddox, Martin, Darvalics, and Ryan Partin.

Partin spun on lap 15, spinning 180 degrees, kept in the throttle, spun another 180 and almost prevented a yellow. Colin Cabre would inherit fifth as the top 4 remained unchanged.

On lap 19 Shane Kreidler had troubles in a three-car battle and nearly flipped. His car ended up falling on it’s side but landed on two wheels on the clay and 2 on the fence the “proper” way. Kreidler got out as soon as he could but was obviously frustrated.

Godwin would take the win with over Maddox, but was later disqualified

Ivedent Lloyd, Jr. (late models), Rodney Wright (hobby stocks), Brian Mullins (thunder stocks) and Reid Christensen (gladiators) were also winners Saturday.

Posted by on Aug 5 2012 Filed under Racing Nation, SOUTHEAST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!