Racing Nation

Mother Nature Can’t Stop East Bay Stars

Late models were next as cars were tuning up for next week’s 5o Lap Feature for race No. 1 of the Donnie Tanner Memorials Series for Late Models. Winning heats were Rich Pratt and David Schmauss. For the front row of the feature it was Phillip Cobb and Steve Miller. When the green dropped Cobb took over the top spot on lap one until the first caution on lap three. When the race resumed it was Miller taking over the lead on lap five trying to pick up his firsrt feature win of the 2013 Season.

Several cautions came throughout the race, but it was on lap seventeen when Josh Peacock took over the lead from Miller. Falling short last week on his birthday was Maverick Varnadore who would then pass Peacock on lap twenty two and go on to win the feature.

“Things didn’t go quiet my way last week but I made up for it this week,” Varnadore stated in Victory Lane.

Matt Miller would come back to finish second while Rich Pratt third, Peacock fourth and David Schmauss rounding out the top five.

Last feature of the night went to the Street Stocks. Winning their heats were Buck Woodhouse and William Burnside. The front row consisted of Ronnie Whitley and Eric Moon.

After lap one was done it was William Burnside who had charged up from the fourth position to take the lead. First caution came when point’s leader Dennis Wilson, Jr. spun on the front stretch. Several more cautions came out when race control decided to start the field single file. Burnside was still the leader with Eric Moon and Hunter Gustafson your top three. Moon battled with Burnside until lap eleven when he spun in turn one putting Gustafson in the second spot.

For the final four laps, Gustafson tried to go to the inside of Burnside but was unable to as Burnside went on to pick up his very first feature win. Just several weeks ago in the feature, Burnside flipped his car and had to rebuild the whole car.

“My dad worked on the car for three straight weeks every night putting this new car back together,” Burnside stated in Victory Lane.

Rounding out the top five were Gustafson, Mike Wilson, Ronnie Whitley and Eric Moon.

Posted by on Apr 21 2013 Filed under Racing Nation, SOUTHEAST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!