Southeast Super Truck Win Goes To Day


Wade Day made it happen on Friday at Kingsport (Tenn.) Speedway. (KS photo)

Wade Day made it happen on Friday at Kingsport (Tenn.) Speedway. (KS photo)

KINGSPORT, Tenn. – There’s an old saying that once you leave home, you can’t go back.

Wade Day, from Seymour, Tenn., proved that to be wrong as the former Kingsport Speedway champion made his first-ever Southeast Super Truck Series start one to remember by ending up in victory lane. Day moved into the lead on lap 13 of the 75-lap event and once out front remained there until the checkered flag waved for his 28th career victory at the track.

Day entered stock car racing from a racing background that saw him win over 800 go-kart races all up-and-down the East coast and around the Southeast during the 1990s, plus capturing several World Karting Association championships along the way. The Whitesburg, Ky.-native made his debut behind the wheel of a full-size race car at Kingsport Speedway in 1998 one to remember, as he parked in victory lane after winning the Open Wheel Modified feature.

That turned out to only be the beginning of Day’s success racing in the Model City, as he’s gone on to record 25 NASCAR Late Model Stock feature wins at the track. In 2000 he captured both the Kingsport Speedway title and the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Blue Ridge Region Championship. Besides the Open Wheel Modified and Late Model Stock victories, in 2012 Day also won the CARS Pro Cup Series touring event.

He’s also a past International Sport Compact Auto Racing Series (formerly NASCAR Goody’s Dash Series) champion, and also two-time NASCAR Weekly Racing Series regional champion. Day’s also a veteran competitor from the Hooters Pro Cup Series and American Speed Association and for the past several years has served as racing mentor to several teenage drivers just getting started, and currently oversees the racing operation for JPF Motorsports and 16-year-old NASCAR Whelen All-American Series rookie Justin Fontaine of Fletcher, N.C. Day was also crew chief for 2011 Daytona 500 winner Trevor Bayne when the current Roush Fenway Racing driver competed in the Hooters Pro Cup Series as a teenager.

Lee Tissot set fast-time at 15.569 seconds, but following the invert of the top three from time trials Matt Leicht started from the pole and Randy Porter on the outside of the front row, with Tissot inside of row two beside of Tim Lollis.

Posted by on Jun 7 2014 Filed under Racing Nation, SOUTHEAST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!