Thomas Stuns Cooley For Ice Bowl Glory

TALLADEGA, Ala. – William Thomas passed Eric Cooley on the final lap to capture the 23rd annual Ice Bowl for super late models at the Talladega Short Track on Sunday afternoon, worth $6,000.

Cooley started from the pole and dominated the 50-lap affair, but second starter Thomas stayed close throughout the event at the third-mile clay oval. With 12 laps left it looked as if Thomas had caught a lucky break when Cooley made contact with a lapped car, allowing Thomas to take the lead as the caution flag waved.

However, race officials said that the lapped car was the cause of the caution and allowed Cooley to reclaim his position at the front of the field. Once the race restarted Thomas stayed close to Cooley, shadowing him as the laps clicked off.

Thomas made his move on the final lap, moving under Cooley coming out of turn four as they came to the checkered flag to steal the victory.

Cooley settled for second, followed by Ross Martin, Lavon Sparks and Todd Morrow.

The finish:

William Thomas, Eric Cooley, Ross Martin, Lavon Sparks, Todd Morrow, Billy Ogle Jr., Ray Cook, Skip Freeman, Chris Jones, Tim Roszell, Bret Holmes, David Brannon, Tom Maddox, Andy Picklesimen, Tommy Bailey, Brian Smith, Ryan King, Joe Armistead, Mark Mears, Jason Wilson, Randall Walker, Mark Haddon, Neil Baggett, Jason Hiett.

Posted by on Jan 5 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series, Racing Nation, SOUTHEAST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!