Winter Flurry Crowns 2013 Champions

HAMPTON, Ga. – Champions were decided as Legends and Bandolero racers took advantage of an extra opportunity to earn national points on Friday at Atlanta Motor Speedway in the season finale of the seven-race Winter Flurry racing series in addition to an off-season event at the track’s quatter-mile “Thunder Ring.”

Scott Moseley led the field to the green flag to start the combined Masters and Pro division feature in the Winter Flurry portion of the action. He was overtaken on the eighth lap by William Plemons III, who made the move on the inside entering turn three.

Plemons’ lead was short-lived, as he spun on the backstretch two laps later and collected the car of Michael Sauer. Both cars were unable to continue. Moseley inherited the lead, pacing the field through the final 10 circuits to capture the win. Ed Clark finished second, claiming the series title in the Masters division.

Riley Thornton started the Semi-Pro feature from the pole position. Thornton and second-place running Jay Coen raced out to a sizeable advantage ahead of the field. Thornton claimed to win while also wrapping up the series title in the Semi-Pro division. Coen finished second in the feature ahead of Taylor Jorgensen.

The Bandits feature began with Zach Leonhardi at the point. Chandler Smith moved into the lead on the first lap. A caution bunched up the field, and Leonhardi took advantage and retook the lead prior to a caution at the race’s halfway point. Smith rallied back. Following a restart with six laps remaining, he moved into the lead with four circuits to go.

Leonhardi and Smith battled side-by-side on the final lap. Smith and Leonhardi made contact with one another to bring out the caution and Smith started third on the final-lap restart. Leonhardi led the rest of the way for the win and Smith wrapped up the Winter Flurry title in the Bandits division.

Kason Plott led the Young Lions feature to the green flag. He held the top spot flag-to-flag for the win with Madeline Crane finishing second ahead of Woodrow Mullis. Crane’s finish clinched the Winter Flurry title in the Young Lions division.

Ashton Winger entered the Outlaws feature leading the division points standings by just three points ahead of Jensen Jorgensen. Winger used the advantage of starting at the pole position to lead before Jorgensen moved into second place by the seventh lap.

Posted by on Apr 6 2013 Filed under Racing Nation, SOUTHEAST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!