Big Day For Schmidt Family At Deming

DEMING, Wash. – The Schmidt Racing Team had one wail of a Sunday afternoon at Deming Speedway, with two of the team’s drivers putting their cars in victory lane at the track’s opening event for 2013.

Racing action was sponsored by Pacific Power Batteries, Diehl Ford, Guardian Security, A1 Welding and Scrap It – Stow It and found Chase Schmidt and Eli Schmidt in victory lane in the two 600 divisions, with Eric Drake and Lynden Lebedinski winning the 1200 and Kasey Kahne Junior Sprint mains.

Chase Schmidt capped the awesome night for the Schmidt Family with a 25 lap wire-to-wire win in the 600 Open division. From the initial outset, Schmidt was a rocket ship, as he enjoyed a full straightaway lead for the bulk of the contest.

Second place went to Liam Ryan with Brayden Planko working his way to third. Ryan set quick and won his heat, leaving him one spot out from a clean sweep. Other heat winners were Alden Ostrom, Brandon Turner and Brock Lemley.

Chase’s brother Eli Schmidt is now a race winner in two different divisions at Deming Speedway after taking home a hard fought victory in the 600 Restricted class. Schmidt took the lead from Kaitlyn Hammer in turn two on lap ten, and then held off a hard charging Dylan Resch and Tristin Thomas who finished second and third.

Jake Helsel was the fast qualifier. Brandee Wood, Spencer Constance, Kinser Kennedy and Tatum Pospical won the heat races and Riley Watkins won the B feature.

Steven Hendrickson’s misfortune was Eric Drake’s gain in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 division. Hendrickson held point for the first 22 laps with Drake hot on his trail until contact between the two coming out of turn two ended up with Hendrickson careening into the inside barrier on the back straight, handing the lead to Drake.

Drake cruised easily to the lead three laps later, followed by Jared Gundersen and Jacob Buckenmeyer. Gundersen set the pace in time trials, and heat winners were Hendrickson and Clennon Holloway.

Lynden Lebedinski opened his 2013 campaign with his first career win in the Kasey Kahne Junior Sprint division. Lebedinski used an inside pass on the opening lap to take the point, which he held for the duration of the contest. Cain Cress made an impressive Deming Speedway debut with a second place run and Tyler Mcleod was third. Cress set quick time, and he and Lebedinski won the heat races.

Posted by on Apr 22 2013 Filed under Racing Nation, WEST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!