It’s Rocket Rod At Skagit

ALGER, Wash. — As race teams prepare for the annual visit from the World of Outlaws racing series on Labor Day weekend, point battles have tightened up in all four divisions.

Picking up his first win since 2009 was “Rocket” Rod Perkins in the 360 Sprints. Travis Jacobson electrified the crowd with a last lap pass of Trey Starks to win the 410 Sprint main. Bill Rude found winners circle for the first time in a couple of seasons and Freddie Vela continued his domination of the Outlaw Hornet division.

Chad Hillier set the pace for the night with fast time in the 410 Sprints with an 11.358 second lap. The heat race wins went to Eric Fisher and Toni Lutar, Lutar and Travis Jacobson went nose to tail for the full heat putting on quite a show. They carried that over to the main event as Lutar set the pace for the first eight laps with Trey Starks and Jacobson in dogged pursuit. Starks squeaked by on the high side at the start-finish line to lead lap nine and took off with Jacobson also getting past Lutar a few laps later. Jacobson caught Starks in traffic with three laps to go and the battle was on. With the white flag flying Jacobson dove to the bottom and gave Starks a slider coming out of two. That was enough as Jacobson led Starks and Hillier to the line for the win.

The long drought is over for Rod Perkins as the Anacortes, Wash., driver moved around a slowing Matt Jensen on the eighteenth lap of the 25-lap 360 Sprint car main event. Perkins was making the bottom side of the track work to his advantage while Jensen ran the middle groove. Fast time went to Kenny Rutz at 12.196 and the heat races were won by Randy Price and Cody Ridge

Sportsman Sprints heat races were won by Cory Swatzina and Bill Rude. Bill Rude led every one of the 20 laps in the Sportsman Sprint car main event. The top five was Rude, Swatzina, point leader Steve Parker, rookie Skyler Pawlowicz and Dylan Dunham. Rude took the lead at the green flag beating the front row to the first turn and was never headed.

Outlaw Hornets heat races were won by the point leader Freddie Vela and second in points Rick Young. Howard Vos flipped this #03 Hornet down the front stretch wall on the initial green flag lap, took it to the pits on the red flag and brought it right back out to take the restart green flag. Vela from his third starting spot took the lead at the end of the first lap and was never seriously challenged picking up another main event win. The Outlaw Hornet main event was black flagged for numerous incidents and exceeding the time limit. Rounding out the top three were Patrick Adams and Stephanie Bailey.



Posted by on Aug 26 2012 Filed under Racing Nation, WEST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!