Jacobson Stars At Skagit

ALGER, Wash. — On the night when the full moon as close to the earth as it is going to be all year the racing at Skagit Speedway featured some BIG wins of its own.

New to winners circle were Travis Jacobson and Dylan Dunham while Rick Young and Trevor Turnbull made their second visits.

Kicking off the evening were time trials for the 410 and 360 Sprints. Setting fast time in both divisions were Trevor Turnbull with an 11.702 in the 360 Sprints and Chad Hillier in the 410 Sprints with an 11.176 second lap.

For the 410 Sprint heats Travis Jacobson and Brock Lemley were winners. Jacobson split the 1st and 3rd place cars heading into turn one to take away the lead. In the main event, Jacobson beat Hillier into the corner and was never headed. With a few yellows and a red Jacobson never encountered much traffic in gaining his first win on the season. Eric Fisher and Barry Martinez put on a spirited battle for second and third with Liam Ryan and Jonathan Jorgenson rounding out the top 5.

Winning the 360 Sprint heats were Turnbull and Cameron Smith. Kenny Rutz led the first 5 laps of the 360 Main event with Turnbull in two as the drivers got into heavy traffic early. Turbull passed Rutz on the sixth lap to take the lead with Rutz keeping pace as the two dove in an out of traffic. Rutz had to dive low and got the car on the apron smacking the front stretch barrier and folding over the front end ending his night. From there no one seriously challenged Turnbull who won his second main event of the season.

Earning heat race wins in the Sportsman Sprint division were Steve Parker, James Bundy and Cory Swatzina. Numerous crashes and mechanical failures ended the night prematurely for some of the competitors. Point leader Derek Roberts smacked the turn 3 wall in the warm up lap ending his night. Early race leader Bundy and Tyler Fox were battling for the lead when they made contact sending both end over end finishing their night. The crash also claimed Cory Swatzina. Dylan Dunham inherited the lead and survived one other roll over, this from Victoria Cantu to claim his first main event win of the year.

In the Outlaw Hornet class Matt Powers and Matt Ploeg were the heat race winners. Rick Young dove under the two front row cars heading into turn one and then held off a late race charge from Matt Powers for his second win of the season.



Posted by on May 6 2012 Filed under Racing Nation, WEST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!