Noll Breaks Through At Canyon

PEORIA, Ariz. — Jason Noll cracked IMCA Modified victory lane on the opening night of the 24th annual Desert Classic at the third-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval Friday night.

While Noll bested the modified ranks, other Friday night winners included Ty Weidner in pure stocks, Joe Saringer in super Stocks, Jason Crowe in bombers and Mike Ryan in Southwest modlites.

After winning his heat race, 2012 IMCA modified points runner-up at CSP Noll raced from the pole position to win Friday’s feature in front of Guy Norton and track champion Cody Center.

Scott Drake raced from 13th to fourth in front of 18th-starter Ricky Thornton, Jr., and 15th-starter D.J. Wood. Those six locked into Saturday night’s $5,000-to-win Desert Classic championship feature.

Ty Weidner added his seventh Pure Stock win of the year from the second row in front of Ty Warner, 11th-starter Danny Price, Steve Bitting and 13th-starter Marlowe Wrightsman, while Joe Saringer bested Alan Kelly and heat race winner Clay Colclasure in super stock action.

Jason Crowe raced from the pole to win the Bomber feature in front of Paul O’Conner and Nick Langer while Mike Ryan topped the Southwest modlite main event ahead of Josh Shipley and 13th-starter Chaz Baca, Jr.



Posted by on Nov 3 2012 Filed under Latest Headlines, Racing Nation, WEST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!