Thorn Delivers In Bullring LM Run

LAS VEGAS — Derek Thorn won the 125-lap season finale for the SPEARS Southwest Tour late models Saturday night at the Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Jonathon Gomez started the SPEARS Southwest Tour Century Motorsports & Marine 125 contest from the pole position and led the first 35 laps. Derek Thorn fought past Gomez to take the lead on the 36th circuit and Greg Pursley slipped by the former race leader to claim second place.

Pursley soon relinquished second place to Jim Pettit II and the trio pulled away from the pack. By the halfway point, at lap 63, Thorn and Pettit pulled away from the rest of the field.

The red flag was thrown on lap 99 for oil leaked on the track from Ross Strmiska’s car. The race restarted with Thorn in the lead, followed by Pettit and Gomez. Thorn went on to win, followed by Pettit and Jeremy Doss. Bullring 2013 NASCAR Super Late Model champion Jay Beasley finished 10th. Pettit secured his third SPEAR Southwest Series title simply by starting the race.

Cody Jessup prevailed in the late-race three-car battle for first place in the 30-lap USAC Ignite Midget Series feature. Bryant Dawson and Tyler Ankrum were a close second and third, respectively.

Both 35-lap S2 Late Model features were won by Trevor Huddleston. Ryan Cansdale finished second in both features and won the 2013 S2 Late Model championship.

Clayton Weatherman won the 35-lap Legend Cars feature. Dylan Cappelo finished second and Noah Gragson was third.


Posted by on Nov 17 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Stock Cars, Racing Nation, Stock Cars, WEST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!