Thornton Conquers Canyon Oval

PEORIA, Ariz. — Ricky Thornton Jr., continues to hold the hottest of Canyon Speedway Park hands as he raced to yet another IMCA Modified feature victory in Saturday night’s Mid-Summer Classic.

While Thornton Jr., reeled off another Modified win, other Mid-Summer Classic winners included Matt Martinez in Pure Stocks, Paul O’Connor in Renegades, Brandon Farrington in X Mods and Keaton Swane in Dwarf Cars.

Thornton, Jr., raced from the front row outside of the IMCA Modified main event to his ninth wins in 11 CSP events thus far in 2014, taking the checkered flag ahead of Jason Noll with Brian Schultz, Steve Stultz and Chaz Baca, Jr., in the top five.  Joe Wampole advanced the most positions in the main event by racing from 19th to seventh.

In Pure Stock action, Matt Martinez raced from eighth for his fourth overall CSP score of the year and second in a row.  Martinez crossed the stripe ahead of Ty Warner with Chris McCurdy, Jr., Zack Madrid and Steve Bitting in the top five.

Paul O’Connor rallied from the eighth starting position as well for his second Renegade win of the year ahead of 13th-starter Jason Crowe with David Harrington, Paul Foote and Trenton Setelin in the top five.

A pair of first time CSP winners for 2014 took honors in X Mods and Dwarf Cars with Brandon Farrington beating fourth-row starters Trevor Miller and Eric Winemiller to the line in the X Mod main and Keaton Swane racing from seventh to take Dwarf Car honors ahead of 12th-starter Mike Strobel and Brian Stehr.


Posted by on Jul 13 2014 Filed under Racing Nation, WEST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!