Vaughn Achieves Deming Dream

DEMING, Wash. – Nate Vaughn achieved a dream on North Coast Credit Union / Special T Signs & Graphics Night at Deming Speedway Friday night.

The Sedro Woolley, Wash., teenager led all 25 laps of the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 Main Event for his first career victory in the division. Joining Vaughn in victory lane were Jared Peterson, Tanner Holm and Haley Constance.

For Vaughn, his rookie campaign in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 division was only missing one thing: A feature win. That win came on Friday night, as he led every lap of the main event from the pole position. Vaughn was challenged late by Brock Lemley who ended up third in the race after Jared Gundersen snuck underneath him on the final lap. Gundersen was the fast qualifier. Steven Hendrickson, Lemley and Vaughn were the heat race winners.

Jared Peterson used a big opening lap move to pick up the wire to wire win in the 600 Open division. Peterson started on the outside of row one and on the drop of the green flag, pulled a bonsai move to the bottom of the racetrack entering turn one.

“I had been watching the 1200 main previously and toward the end, saw all of them around the bottom, so I thought I needed to get low as soon as possible,” said Peterson in victory lane.

After taking the lead, he was flawless in both clean air and traffic, only being closed upon during restarts. Chase Schmidt ran second and Liam Ryan was third. Brayden Planko set quick time. Austin Sheridan, Brock Lemley, Kyle Mitchell and Spud Allen won the heats.

For the fourth time in 2013, Tanner Holm was the winner in the 600 Restricted division. Holm was scheduled to start inside row two, but an opening lap caution reshuffled the front of the field and placed Holm outside row one for the second attempt to start the race. From there, Holm held tough around the outside groove, taking the lead by a nose on lap one, then slamming the door to the bottom groove shortly thereafter.

“I knew I could run the top from those A Mains we ran at Clay Cup last month. Our car was good enough up there to get the lead, and from there we just ran away,” said Holm.

Holm was nearly untouchable over the remaining duration, winning by a huge margin over second place Chance Crum and third place Dylan Resch. Tristin Thomas set quick time. Heat wins went to Resch, Brandee Wood and Ashley Thompson.

Haley Constance won for the second time on the year, taking over the lead from Cain Cress on lap 12 to score the victory in the Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints. Haley was joined in victory lane by Peyton Hagen who took a career best second and Mitchell Helsel in third. Constance also set quick time, the first car of the year in the class to qualify in the 12 second bracket. Heat wins belonged to Hagen and Lynden Lebedinski.

Posted by on Aug 17 2013 Filed under Racing Nation, WEST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!