Luhr & Graf Dominate At Lime Rock

LIME ROCK, Conn. – Lucas Luhr survived a torrid battle with Chris Dyson and then joined Klaus Graf in scoring the third consecutive victory in 2013 American Le Mans Series presented by Tequila Patrón competition in the No. 6 Muscle Milk Pickett Racing HPD ARX-03c in Saturday’s American Le Mans Northeast Grand Prix at Lime Rock Park.

Dyson, celebrating his team’s 30th anniversary of competing in the No. 16 Dyson Racing Lola B12/60, jumped to an early lead and traded the lead several times with Luhr on the tight 1.5-mile circuit during the opening hour.

A turning point came at the one-hour mark, when both leaders pitted. Luhr quickly returned following routine service, while Dyson Racing lost a lap and a half while Guy Smith relieved Dyson but had trouble tightening his safety belts.

From there on, Luhr dominated before turning the car over to Graf with 45 minutes remaining. Graf went on to win by six laps over Dyson and Smith.

John Edwards and Dirk Muller teamed to win GT in BMW Team RLL’s No. 56 Crowne Plaza BMW Z4 GTE. Muller held off a late charge by Antonio Garcia to secure the victory by .905 seconds. It was his 18th career triumph and extended his point lead in a bid for a third championship. It was the first ALMS victory for Edwards, who captured his first pole in the series on Friday.

Ryan Briscoe bumped his way past Guy Cosmo with 3:30 remaining and held on to win his second race of the season in P2 in the No. 551 Siemens/Alpina Watches/Ohiya Casino Resort HPD ARX-03b started from the pole by Scott Tucker.

Cosmo retained the lead following an off-course excursion following his final pit stop. After the contact, he returned to finish second with Scott Sharp in the No. 01 Extreme Speed Motorsports Tequila Patrón HPD-ARX-03b.

Bruno Junqueira prevailed in a four-minute, 15-second dash to the checkered flag to join Duncan Ende in giving RSR Racing its first victory in Prototype Challenge presented by Continental Tire in the No. 9 Oreca FLM09.

Spencer Pumpelly scored his fifth career victory, joining first-time winner Nelson Canache Jr. in the No. 45 Flying Lizard Motorsports Venezuela/eSilicon Porsche 911 GT3 Cup. The victory enabled the pair to close to within one point of GTC championship leader Henrique Cisneros, who finished eighth.

Posted by on Jul 6 2013 Filed under ALMS, Latest Headlines, Road Racing. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!