Grand Am

Starworks Rules Indianapolis Again!

Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty finished third in the No. 99 GAINSCO Auto Insurance Corvette DP, with fourth place going to the second Starworks Motorsport entry for Brendon Hartley and Pierre Kaffer in the No. 8 BMW/Riley.

Formula One and IndyCar veteran Rubens Barrichello led late in his first Daytona Prototype race but came up nine minutes short, having to pit to top off on fuel. He and co-driver Doug Peterson wound up fifth in the No. 77 Doran Racing Ford/Dallara.

Christian Fittipaldi and Joao Barbosa entered the race with a two-race winning streak and the NAEC lead for Action Express Racing, but the No. 5 Corvette DP had a long stop early in the race when a suspension part broke, resulting in a 14th-place finish.

Jeff Segal and Max Papis teamed in the No. 61 R. Ferri/AIM Motorsport Ferrari 458 Italia to give Ferrari its first GT victory of the season. John Edwards and Robin Liddell finished second in the No. 57 Stevenson Auto Group Chevrolet Camaro, giving Stevenson Motorsports the NAEC GT title.

Sylvain Tremblay and Tom Long combined to give SpeedSource its fifth consecutive victory in the GX class, scoring their second triumph of the campaign in the No. 70 MAZDASPEED/Speedsource Mazda6. SpeedSource also won the NAEC title for the class. Dr. Jim Norman finished second in the No. 38 BGB Motorsports Porsche Cayman to secure the GX NAEC driver title.

Posted by on Jul 26 2013 Filed under Grand Am, Latest Headlines, Road Racing, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!