Other Road Racing

Minor Cruises To Summit Point Glory

Tim Minor (88) led every lap of Saturday's F2000 Championship Series race at Summit Point (W.Va.) Motorsports Park. (Valet Photo)

Tim Minor (88) led every lap of Saturday’s F2000 Championship Series race at Summit Point (W.Va.) Motorsports Park. (Valet Photo)

SUMMIT POINT, W.Va. – Tim Minor started from pole and easily led every lap at his home track to take the win in the first of two Summit Point Motorsports Park races for the F2000 Championship Series season finale weekend on Saturday.

Minor delivered another victory for his Ski Motorsports team in the No. 88 Citation as David Grant and Santino Ferrucci completed the podium ahead of WISKO Racing teammates Federico Mosconi and Kevin Kopp.

“It couldn’t be better, I have a lot of family here and now we’ve won at every track this year,” Minor said.

The veteran driver swept VIR and Road Atlanta to open the season, and took single victories at Lime Rock Park, Watkins Glen and Mid-Ohio. With thousands of laps around Summit Point, Minor will start from pole for Sunday’s F2000 season finale.

Grant started from third on the grid and was able to avoid a spinning Kyle Connery on a dramatic opening lap to advance one position to finish second in the No. 29 Van Diemen for Polestar Racing Group.

Ferrucci took yet another top five result with a third place drive at Summit Point. The HP-Tech driver noted he barely got any laps in the dry on Friday at the track, and basically saw the track for the first time during morning warm-up on Saturday.

Mosconi was able to get around teammate Kopp in the closing stages to bring the WISKO No. 99 home in fourth, while Kopp settled for fifth ahead of Roberto Lorena. Lorena ran fourth in the opening stages of the race but lost some pace as the 22-lap event unfolded.

Masters Class experts Rob Nicholas, Tom Fatur, Steve Bamford and Eric Presbrey completed the top ten.

Davy D’Addario notched CellMark Paper Hard Charger honors by finishing 14th after starting dead last. Dave Weitzenhof put in a similar drive, going from 26th to 15th during the race.

DNFs included Chris Livengood and Keith McCrone, while Jim Libecco had an engine let go and Jose Montiel retired with crash damage.

Connery made a move on the opening lap from the outside of the front row for the race lead, but could not make it stick. He fell to 26th at the end of lap one, worked his way to ninth, but retired with a lap to go to finish 20th. He will roll off the grid fourth on Sunday by virtue of setting the fourth fastest race lap.

The grid order for Sunday’s race sees Minor and Grant on row one ahead of Ferrucci and Connery. Mosconi and Kopp line up on row three, and then it’s Lorena and Nick Palacio with Nicholas and Bamford following.

Posted by on Aug 24 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Road Racing, Road Racing, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!