Other Road Racing

Minor Sweeps Summit Point Finale

Tim Minor (88) completed a weekend sweep in F2000 Championship Series competition at Summit Point (W.Va.) Motorsports Park Sunday. (Valet Photo)

Tim Minor (88) completed a weekend sweep in F2000 Championship Series competition at Summit Point (W.Va.) Motorsports Park Sunday. (Valet Photo)

SUMMIT POINT, W.Va. – Tim Minor, the 2013 F2000 Champion, fell to third on an early race restart, but was back in front a few laps later and took his ninth win of the season to close his Championship campaign in the season-ending race at Summit Point Motorsports Park.

Minor passed Kyle Connery and Santino Ferrucci and pulled a large gap to take the top step of the podium. Ferrucci took second place ahead of HP-Tech teammate Roberto Lorena.

With a sweep of the weekend, Minor closes an F2000 season he totally dominated, sweeping three of seven doubleheader weekends and winning races at every track on the schedule in his Ski Motorsports No. 88 Citation.

“I missed a shift on that restart,” explained Minor, who started the season the way he ended it, with a weekend sweep. “Santino did an awesome job; I would race with him any day. This win and weekend are icing on the cake and I look forward to defending the title in 2014.”

Ferrucci took another podium medal with a second place drive, getting past Connery in the late stages of the race.

“That was awesome,” said Ferrucci. “I love racing here and it was a great couple of laps battling with Tim. The HP-Tech team did a phenomenal job.”

Lorena, in another white HP-Tech Van Diemen, completed the podium solidifying his fourth place points position on the season.

“There’s no better way to end the season than with a podium,” added the 18-year-old Brazilian.

For Connery, despite early laps led, he fell to third as the race developed and went off in the closing laps while battling with Ferrucci.

CellMark Paper Hard Charger honors for the race went to Chris Livengood, who drove his backup RFR car from 23rd to fourth in an impressive performance in just his fourth start of the season.

Dean Baker followed in fifth position, ahead of Steve Bamford, Nick Palacio and Eric Presbrey. Dave Weitzenhof and Dan Denison were ninth and tenth, even after Denison’s Polestar team changed a cut tire during an early race red flag and was sent to the back of the field.

Season-long Hard Charger honors from CellMark were awarded to Weitzenhof, who improved a total of 54 places on the season, with Keith McCrone second with 53 spots improved in the Metrik chassis for R-Sport.

It was a rough day for Jim Libecco, who dropped from fifth to 19th with two laps to go. If Libecco had held fifth, after starting, ironically, 19th, he would have taken the season-long Hard Charger honors.

The race got off to a rocky start, with a red flag after an opening lap incident that claimed a number of cars, including contender David Grant. The race was restarted with the original grid order, and went green from there on out to the finish.

Posted by on Aug 25 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Road Racing, Road Racing, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!