Jones Steps Down From SCCA Board

TOPEKA, Kan.– R. David Jones has resigned from the Sports Car Club of America Board of Directors as its Area 7 representative. The Board voted to approve Dan Helman as his replacement.

A former Chairman and a member of the SCCA Hall of Fame, Jones was re-elected to his second term as the Area 7 representative in November, but has since reconsidered his service for the next three years. Helman was runner-up to Jones in that election, and accepted the Board’s nomination, per the SCCA bylaws.

“Over the last three years spent on the Board of Directors, I haven’t been feeling particularly effective,” Jones said. “I feel that Dan’s background and experience might do a better job at this point than I can.

“I’m 75 years old, and have spent a lot of time with this Club, and I will continue to do that in some capacity. I’ve spent 18 years total on the Board of Directors and another two in an ad-hoc position. I’ve been the Club’s treasurer, vice chairman and the chairman for nine years. The Club has been kind enough to even present me with the Woolf Barnato Award and elect me into its Hall of Fame. But the time has come for me to step aside and allow someone like Dan the opportunity to further contribute to the Club.”

Under Jones’ leadership as its Chairman, SCCA reached some important milestones, including the creation of the Spec Racer and the purchase of ProSolo. In 1986, Jones was presented the Woolf Barnato Award, the highest individual honor in the Club. He was inducted into the SCCA Hall of Fame in 2010. R. David Jones continues as an active racer in the Club, currently campaigning a Formula Mazda and a Formula Vee.

Helman, of Huffman, Texas, is a member of the Houston Region. He recently served as chairman for the SCCA Insurance Committee. Under his direction, the Committee delivered an insurance program for 2013 at a considerable savings to the organization, with a positive financial effect on the Regions and participants.

Helman will serve Area 7 of the Club, which represents the Southwest Division. He will serve a three-year term, through 2015.

Posted by on Mar 4 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Road Racing, SCCA. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!