Robinson Does The Thompson Double

Skylar Robinson won both F2000 Championship Series races at Thompson (Conn.) Speedway Motorsports Park. (F2000 Photo)

Skylar Robinson won both F2000 Championship Series races at Thompson (Conn.) Speedway Motorsports Park. (F2000 Photo)

THOMPSON, Conn. – Skylar Robinson dominated the second F2000 Championship Series race on the new road course at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park Sunday afternoon, taking two victories in two days in the No. 6 Eric Langbein Racing Citation.

Robinson’s maximum points scoring weekend forces the title fight to the final two F2000 rounds at Watkins Glen (N.Y.) Int’l in October as Robinson closed in on Tim Minor for the championship lead. Sam Beasley and Minor completed the podium in round 12 of the season.

“We have been working hard and the car has been epic this weekend,” said Robinson, whose recent string of victories and podiums has shrunk Minor’s points lead. Heading into the Watkins Glen finale, Robinson will need a huge points weekend to take the 2014 title away from Minor, who won at the Glen in May.

Robinson made Thompson his own playground, leading practice times, and scoring two poles and two wins. Sunday’s margin of victory was 11.9 seconds in a 25-lap all green flag race. Robinson’s win was the third of his rookie F2000 season.

Beasley doubled his result for the weekend, with two second places for Polestar.

“We didn’t have enough speed to keep up with Skylar, but the seconds show how hard we have been working since Road Atlanta on improvements,” said Beasley.

Minor won the Masters Class with a third-place result, but lost a handful of points to Robinson. Now those two, who share an engineer in Eric Langbein, will go to Watkins Glen, competing head to head for the 2014 title. Minor was able to get past the Spectrum of Thomas McGregor on the last lap.

“I was racing McGregor hard,” said Minor, “I made a good move on him out of turn three to take third.”

After running mostly the entire race in third, McGregor had to settle for a fourth place result. The Spectrum from Exclusive Autosport made it three wide on the inside on the run down to turn one at the start, but wisely back out of that move to slot back into third position.

Trent Walko completed the top five in the No. 91 RFR entry.

The finish:

Skylar Robinson, Sam Beasley, Tim Minor, Thomas McGregor, Trent Walko, David Grant, Quinlan Lall, Steve Bamford, Dan Denison, Jim Libecco, Davy D’Addario, Dave Weitzenhof, Alan Guibord, John McCusker, Chris Monteleone, Timothy Paul, Jonathan Teixeira, Bob Reid.

Posted by on Aug 31 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Road Racing, SCCA, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!