SCCA Honors Workers Of The Year

ELKHART LAKE, Wis. – Sports Car Club of America honored their top Club Racing volunteers on Wednesday evening at the SCCA National Championship Runoffs at Road America, selecting nine BFGoodrich Tires Workers of the Year.

One BFGoodrich Tires Worker of the Year award was given to a member in each of the nine SCCA divisions, regardless of specialty. Each of those nine Divisional winners are given a set of BFGoodrich Tires and a patch, plaque and jacket to commemorate the achievement.

To award a grand prize winner, the nine finalist’s names were put into a hat. Gene Peterson, a Scrutineer from the Arizona Region, was selected for the top bill.

The grand prize, a trip to the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring at Sebring (Fla.) Int’l Raceway, will include airfare, lodging, tickets, track hospitality, golf cart for use during the weekend and pit and paddock tours, all courtesy of BFGoodrich Tires.

Mark Bingheim, Race Administrator from the Chicago Region, was selected in a second drawing to win a lifetime SCCA membership.

“We’re here tonight to celebrate what makes our Club unique in the motorsports world: our dedicated bunch of volunteers,” Terry Ozmet, SCCA VP of Club Racing, said. “Thank you for all of your hard work, time and dedication.”

Previously in the evening, Dayle Frame, representing the Production drivers, awarded 53 workers envelopes with cash totaling $2,685 that was donated by racers at the group’s party on Tuesday night.

This year’s winners BFGoodrich Tires Worker of the Year are:

Central Division: Mark Bingheim, Race Administration, Chicago Region

Great Lakes Division: Dr. Karen Crider, Flag & Communication, Detroit Region

Midwest Division: Steven Burkett, Race Administration, Southern Illinois Region

Northeast Division: Jessica Honigs, Flag & Communication, New England Region

Northern Pacific Division: Ali Montgomery, Flag & Communication, Oregon Region

Rocky Mountain Division: Christy Hopkins, Flag & Communication, Colorado Region

Southeast Division: Lori Vitagliano, Registration, Florida Region

Southern Pacific Division: Gene Petersen, Scrutineer, Arizona Region

Southwest Division: Brent McNaul, Flag & Communication, Lone Star Region

Posted by on Sep 19 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Road Racing, SCCA. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!