Tandy & Wilkins Bank Toronto PWC Poles

Nick Tandy earned the pole in the GT class for Saturday's Pirelli World Challenge event in Toronto. (Al Steinberg Photo)

Nick Tandy earned the pole in the GT class for Saturday’s Pirelli World Challenge event in Toronto. (Al Steinberg Photo)

TORONTO – Nick Tandy and Mark Wilkins captured the pole positions in GT and GTS classes Friday for the Pirelli World Challenge at Honda Indy Toronto.

Additionally, Albert von Thurn und Taxis was the fastest driver in the GT-A classification.

Tandy, making his series debut in the No. 31 EFFORT Racing Porsche GT3 R, engaged in a great scrap with fellow first-time 2014 Pirelli World Challenge racer Kuno Wittmer, of Montreal, Quebec for the top spot.

Tandy was first into the 1:09s at the 1.755-mile Exhibition Place track at 1:09.703. Wittmer, in the No. 92 Dodge/SRT Motorsports Dodge Viper SRT GT3-R, then lowered the mark to a 1:09.607. But Tandy responded with the ultimate pole time of 1:09.462 – easily a new track record.

“I’d asked to be continually updated on times throughout the session,” Tandy said. “I thought we’d be doing around this sort of lap time. I knew I’d have to pull something out of the bag. Two laps were pretty good, one was good enough for the pole. It’s a good improvement from where we started at the front of the weekend.”

Wittmer, making his first series start since 2010, will start second. Meanwhile Anthony Lazzaro in the No. 61 R. Ferri Motorsports Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 and Mike Skeen in the No. 2 Hawk Performance Audi R8 Ultra also got into the 1:09 range. Lazzaro and Skeen are both winners this season and will share row two.

Points leader and defending Toronto race winner Johnny O’Connell in the No. 3 Cadillac Racing Cadillac CTS-V.R, will start fifth with a best time of 1:10.253. The top six on the GT grid eclipsed O’Connell’s previous track record of 1:10.304, set last season.

Von Thurn und Taxis makes his return to the series for the first time since round one at St. Petersburg, and had the seventh best overall time of 1:10.342 in the No. 24 Reiter Engineering Lamborghini Gallardo FL2. Henrik Hedman in the No. 10 DragonSpeed Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 and Michael Mills in the No. 41 EFFORT Racing Porsche GT3 R start second and third in GT-A.

Posted by on Jul 18 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Road Racing, SCCA. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!