WeatherTech Championship

Snodgrass Award Nominees Announced

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Success on the track during the 2013 Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series has led to four sports car team owners being named today as candidates for the 2013 Rolex Bob Snodgrass Award of Excellence, presented by Gorsline Company.

The award recipient will be chosen by a panel of motorsports professionals and announced in three weeks on Friday, Jan. 24, 2014, during the Grand Marshal dinner which is the traditional prelude to the Rolex 24 At Daytona.  The 2013 honoree will be presented with a specially-engraved Rolex Stainless Steel and Platinum Yacht-Master timepiece.

The Rolex Bob Snodgrass Award of Excellence was created to recognize the team owner or team manager who has demonstrated the qualities of integrity, passion for the sport and the love of cars for which Bob Snodgrass was known during his life and career.

The award – supported by Gorsline Company, the premier insurer of high-risk professionals – has been presented to Bob Stallings (2010), Joe Sahlen (2011) and Peter Baron (2012).  The team owners who are candidates for the 2013 Rolex Bob Snodgrass Award of Excellence are:

John Potter of Magnus Racing (Salt Lake City, Utah) – Potter’s Magnus Racing amassed five podium finishes during the 2013 GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series, highlighted by winning the final race of the year at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.  Potter co-drives the No. 44 Magnus Racing Porsche GT3 Cup car with Andy Lally, and the two were second in the overall standings for drivers, as well as second overall in team points for the season.

John Stevenson of Stevenson Motorsports (Jacksonville, N.C.) – John Stevenson’s No. 57 Camaro GT.R racked up four wins in 2013 (at Barber Motorsports Park, Road Atlanta, Belle Isle Park and Watkins Glen International) to place Stevenson Motorsports third overall for the year in the GT season standings – just one point out of second.   His driving team of John Edwards and Robin Liddell were also third overall in the driver points for the season.  In the Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge, Edwards and co-driver Matt Bell, in the No. 9 Stevenson Motorsports Camaro GS.R, won at Road Atlanta and the Kansas Speedway to finish the season second overall in driver points, earning Stevenson Motorsports second overall in the GS team standings for 2013.

Michael Shank, Michael Shank Racing (Columbus, Ohio) – Michael Shank had two cars running in the DP class during 2013, with his No. 60 Ford Riley finishing third at the season-opening Rolex 24 At Daytona, as well as at Kansas Speedway and his No. 6 Ford Riley taking second at Lime Rock Park through the efforts of co-drivers Justin Wilson and Gustavo Yacaman.  For the season, Michael Shank Racing finished sixth and 12th in the overall team standings.

Wayne Taylor, Wayne Taylor Racing (Brownsburg, Ind.) – Wayne Taylor’s No. 10 Corvette DP placed second in class at the Rolex 24 At Daytona to start off the 2013 season.  Son Jordan Taylor and co-driver Max Angelelli followed with wins at Barber Motorsports Park and Belle Isle Park, before their winning streak of three consecutive victories (at Kansas Speedway, Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca and Lime Rock Park) closed out the season.  They won the driver championship and placed second overall in the team standings for 2013.


Posted by on Jan 3 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Road Racing, WeatherTech Championship. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!