ASCS Heads To Texas For Winter Nationals

TULSA, Okla. – Keeping base in the state of Texas for another week, teams with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV will move from the red dirt of Kilgore, Texas, to the black clay of the Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite for the 39th Winter Nationals.

A storied history that begin in 1994, the Devil’s Bowl has hosted the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV 70 times with Shane Carson taking the first ASCS installment on June 21, 1994.

In the overall history of the National Tour’s involvement with the Mesquite, Texas oval Gary Wright tops the list in number of victories with twenty; double than that of Jason Johnson who holds ten wins.

Scheduled for Friday October 19th and Saturday October 20th, the Winter Nationals will also include the 6th Annual Steve King Foundation Golf Tournament of Champions presented by Smiley’s Racing Products and Hoosier Tire that will be held on Thursday October 18th at the Buffalo Creek Golf Club in Rockwall, Texas.

According to an e-mail issued by the event coordinators, “The Registration Fee for this event is $90 per individual or $350 for a Golf Team of 4. The fee includes the golf tournament, a boxed lunch, and the Bar-B-Que dinner at the Awards Banquet. You can register and pay online using Paypal. This does not require you to have a Paypal account. You can also Register online and select the option to pay by check.”

Additional information can be found at

In the 39 year history of the Winter Nationals, twenty drivers have raced their way to victory with only eight of those winning multiple times. Sammy Swindell has bested the ½ mile clay oval eight times (1978, 1979, 1983, 1984, 1987, 1994, 1998, 2000).

Gary Wright holds five Winter Nationals trophies (1992, 1995, 1999, 2003, 2005). Other drivers with multiple victories include Doug Wolfgang (1980, 1981, 1988), Bobby Marshall (1976, 1977), Dave Blaney (1985, 1993), Jason Johnson (2007, 2008), Mark Kinser (1996, 1997), and Steve Kinser (1982, 1990).

Joe Saldana (1974), Jam Opperman (1975), Bobby Davis Jr. (1986), Jack Hewitt (1991), Joey Saldana (2001), Tyler Walker (2002), Shane Stewart (2004), Travis Rilat (2006), Kevin Ramey (2009), Jack Dover (2010), and Danny Lasoski (2011) make up the remaining drivers with Winter National victories.

Coming into the final 10 races of the 2012 championship battle, only seven of the next events will count towards the overall point’s battle. This weekend’s Winter Nationals along with races in El Paso, Texas, Las Cruces, New Mexico and finally the Western World in Peoria, Arizona will all be full point paying events for the drivers with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV. Excluded is the Short Track Nationals.

Jason Johnson continues to lead the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV national point standings by 50 markers over Wayne Johnson who picked up the $13,000 payday this past weekend at the Lone Star Speedway which was a non-point special event. Brady Bacon trails by 185 in the championship standings with Johnny Herrera and Tony Bruce Jr. currently making up the top five.

Posted by on Oct 16 2012 Filed under ASCS, Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!