ASCS Lone Star Region Set For 15 Nights

Matt Covington (11c) is the defending ASCS Lone Star Region champion. (Tom Meredith photo)

TULSA, Okla. — The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region will once again bring the best of sprint car racing to North Texas and beyond as the 2012 series schedule has been revealed.

The 2012 ASCS Lone Star slate currently consists of 15 nights of competition at seven different tracks.

The ASCS Lone Star Region will open the 2012 season April 7 with its lone scheduled appearance of the year at Lone Star Speedway in Kilgore, Texas.

From there, action shifts to the famed Devil’s Bowl Speedway near Dallas in Mesquite, Texas, on April 14. It marks the first of seven Lone Star nights atop the hallowed Devil’s Bowl clay, including two nights in conjunction with the Lucas Oil ASCS National series at the Summer Nationals, two nights versus the ASCS Sooner Region and one August night in tandem with the ASCS Gulf South Region after squaring off the previous evening at Waco’s Heart O’ Texas Speedway.

In addition to squaring off with the ASCS Sooner Region twice at Devil’s Bowl Speedway, the Lone Star forces will also take on their foes from the north at Cowtown Speedway July 21 and Lawton Speedway one week later.

Prior to that Lone Star vs. Sooner tilt in July, Cowtown Speedway will welcome the ASCS Lone Star Region May 5 and then will host the series scheduled season finale on a date to be determined in September.

Along the way, the series will also make annual stops at Boyd Raceway and Abilene Speedway on the second weekend of June.

Oklahoma’s Matt Covington is the reigning Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region champion after besting his Texas foes for title bragging rights in 2011.

2012 Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region Schedule

April 7 Lone Star Speedway Kilgore, Texas

April 14 Devil’s Bowl Speedway Mesquite, Texas

May 5 Cowtown Speedway Kennedale, Texas

May 19 Devil’s Bowl Speedway Mesquite, Texas

June 2 Devil’s Bowl Speedway Mesquite, Texas

June 8 Boyd Raceway Boyd, Texas

June 9 Abilene Speedway Abilene, Texas

June 15-16 Devil’s Bowl Speedway Mesquite, Texas

July 7 Devil’s Bowl Speedway Mesquite, Texas

July 21 Cowtown Speedway Kennedale, Texas

July 28 Lawton Speedway Lawton, Okla.

Aug. 24 Heart O’ Texas Speedway Waco, Texas

Aug. 25 Devil’s Bowl Speedway Mesquite, Texas

September TBA Cowtown Speedway Kennedale, Texas




Posted by on Jan 26 2012 Filed under ASCS, Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!