Bacon Rough Rides To ASCS Glory

Eventual winner Brady Bacon (99) and Brian Brown fight for the lead Friday night at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo. (Ken Simon photo)

WHEATLAND, Mo. — On a track made rough by copious amounts of rain leading up the Jesse Hockett/Daniel McMillin Memorial, Brady Bacon was unstoppable as the Broken Arrow native swept both the W.A.R Sprints and Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV A-Feature events Friday night.

“We’ll see what happens tomorrow. That’s the big night and it’s the most important,” said Bacon. “I got that Jesse Hockett helmet painted so maybe that has something to do with it. I’m glad to win in Jack’s car and I’m glad to win in my car so hopefully we can do this again tomorrow.”

Rolling off from the outside of the front row, the Fatheadz Eyewear No. 99 would ride second as Brian Brown assumed the point in the Casey’s General Store / FVP / Searsboro No. 21. Riding the top shelf of the rough Lucas Oil Speedway, Bacon saw his opportunity on lap four as Brown slipped exiting turn four, allowing Bacon to diamond the corner for a bottom side pass entering turn one.

The races lone stop came on lap five for an incident that saw Derek Hagar flipping nearly half the length of the back straightaaway after Justin Henderson was left with nowhere to go as Brad Loyet got crossed up exiting turn two.

With fifteen laps remaining, Bacon would quickly extend his lead as Brown worked to hold off the hard charging Tony Bruce Jr.

Working through slower traffic, the battle for second went from two to four as Wayne Johnson and 11th-starting Shane Stewart joined in the mix near the midpoint of the night’s 25- lap feature.

Finally clearing Brian Brown on lap 16, Bruce ran out of time to get a run for the lead as Brady Bacon stormed to his seventh A-Main win of the year.

Bruce finished second ahead of Brown, Stewart and Johnson.

The finish:

Brady Bacon, Tony Bruce Jr., Brian Brown, Shane Stewart, Wayne Johnson, Jonathan Cornell, Jason Johnson, Brandon Hanks, Johnny Herrera, Jack Dover, Dustin Morgan, Justin Henderson, Miranda Arnold, Logan Forler, Layne Himebaugh, Tyler Blank, Brad Loyet, Kyle Bellm, R.J. Johnson, Gary Wright, Seth Bergman, Derek Hagar.



Posted by on Sep 29 2012 Filed under ASCS, Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!