Bakker Ends Four-Year ASCS Drought

Gregg Bakker won Saturday's ASCS Midwest Region feature at Nebraska's Junction Motor Speedway. (Joe Orth photo)

McCOOL JUNCTION, Neb. — Gregg Bakker picked off his first American Sprint Car Series feature win since August of 2007 by wiring the field in Saturday night’s 25-lap Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest main event at Junction Motor Speedway.

Starting from the pole, Bakker gunned into the lead at the outset and fought off Danny Wood in the early going before fending off a charge from Jason Johnson in the closing laps to secure the $3,000 triumph.

Bakker beat Johnson to the stripe, with Trevor Grossenbacher, 12th-starter Brian Brown and Zach Chappell rounding out the top five. Lee Grosz was sixth, with Brady Bacon, Johnn Cressman, Jordan Boston and Tony Bruce, Jr., completing the top 10.

Bakker, Bryan Gossel, Boston and Chappell topped heat race action for the 32-car field, with Seth Bergman winning the B Main.

The finish:

Gregg Bakker, Jason Johnson, Trevor Grossenbacher, Brian Brown, Zach Chappell, Lee Grosz, Brady Bacon, Johnn Cressman, Jordan Boston, Tony Bruce, Jr., Billy Alley, Jack Dover, Bronson Maeschen, Bryan Gossel, Danny Wood, Don Droud, Jr., Seth Bergman, Miranda Arnold, Tyler Drueke, Jay Russell.





Posted by on Sep 11 2011 Filed under ASCS, Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!