Carney Is El Paso Sprint Master

EL PASO, Texas — For the fifth time in 2012 John Carney II topped the field with the ASCS 305 division, taking the $1,200 payday at the El Paso Speedway Park.

Rolling from outside the front row in the night’s 25-lap feature event, Carney would follow pole sitter Kyle Sager for the first 10 rounds before the No. 9k went for a spectacular ride trying to put the No.3d of Don Reynolds a lap down.

Assuming the point, Carney would be chased by long time series rival Lorne Wofford. Rolling into the runner up spot from 10th, the M.T.S. No. 18 would take the top spot on lap nineteen but Carney would roll back into the race lead before the lap could be competed.

Slowing for a caution with four laps to run, Carney would pull to nearly a half straight-a-way advantage before the checkered flag waved. Lorne Wofford crossed the line second with Kyle McCutcheon taking the final step on the podium. Derek Drown and Dylan Harris made up the top five.

After suffering mechanical problems in his heat, Royal Jones charged through the field to take sixth with Cesar Fuentes, Colt Treharn, Dylan Harris, and Anton Salopek rounding out the top 10.


Posted by on Sep 15 2012 Filed under ASCS, Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!